APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

Melbourne, 30 January 2006

Law Institute of Victoria

Mr Erskine Rodan, Councillor and Board Member Ms Alison Brooks, Paralegal, Administrative Law and Human Rights Section

Centre for Comparative Constitutional Studies

Dr Simon Evans, Director

Law Society of Law South Australia

Ms Deej Eszenyi, President Ms Sasha Lowes, Member, Human Rights Committee Ms Paula Stirling, Member, Justice Access Committee

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission

Mr Craig Lenehan, Deputy Director, Legal Services

Canberra, 6 February 2006

Fragomen Australia

Dr David Crawford, Partner

Migration Insitute of Australia

Mr David Mawson, Chief Executive Officer Mrs Helen Duncan, Vice-President, QLD Branch Mr Neil Hitchcock, Fellow and Founding Member

Southern Cross Group

Ms Anne MacGregor, Co-Founder

Maltese Welfare Assocation

Mr Lawrence Dimech OAM JP, President

Professor Kim Rubenstein

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Peter Vardos PSM, First Assistant Secretary, Citizenship, Settlement and Multicultural Affairs Division

Ms Mary-Anne Ellis, Assistant Secretary, Citizenship and Language Services Branch

Ms Nadine Clode, A/g Director, Citizenship Policy Section