Inquiry into the provisions of the

Law Enforcement Integrity Commissioner Bill 2006 Law Enforcement Integrity Commissioner (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2006 Law Enforcement (AFP Professional Standards and Related Measures) Bill 2006

PUBLIC HEARING

Jubilee Room NSW Parliament House Macquarie Street SYDNEY

Thursday 27 April 2006 1.30pm – 5.30pm

PROGRAM

1.30pm – 2.15pm	Dr A.J. Brown, Senior Lecturer, Griffith Law School & Socio-Legal Research Centre, Griffith University (No Submission)
2.15pm – 3.00pm	Police Integrity Commission (Submission 2)
	Mr Allan Kearney, Director Intelligence and Executive Services
3.00pm – 3.45pm	Police Federation of Australia (Submission 7) and
	Australian Federal Police Association (Submission 6)
	Mr Jim Torr, Chief Executive Officer
	Mr Ian Phillips, Director Legal
3.45pm – 4.30pm	Commonwealth Ombudsman (Submission 4)
	Dr Vivienne Thom, Deputy Ombudsman
	Ms Vicki brown, Senior Assistant Ombudsman
4.30pm – 5.30pm	Attorney-General's Department (No Submission)
	Mr Craig Harris, Assistant Secretary, National Law Enforcement Policy Branch, Criminal Justice Division
	Mr Michael Manning, Principal Legal Officer, National Law Enforcement Policy Branch, Criminal Justice Division

Australian Federal Police (Submission 3)

Federal Agent John Lawler, Deputy Commissioner Federal Agent Alan Scott, Manager People Strategies Federal Agent Darren Booy Mr Peter Whowell, Manager Legislation Program

Australian Crime Commission (No Submission)

Mr Alistair Milroy, Chief Executive Officer Mr Lionel Newman, Director Strategy and Governance