The Senate

Legal and Constitutional References Committee

The road to a republic

© Commonwealth of Australia 2004					
ISBN 0 642 71441 X					
This document was printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra					

MEMBERS OF THE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Members

Senator the Hon Nick Bolkus (Chair), ALP, SA Senator Marise Payne (Deputy Chair), LP, NSW Senator Geoff Buckland, ALP, SA** Senator Brian Greig, AD, WA* Senator Linda Kirk, ALP, SA Senator Nigel Scullion, CLP, NT

Substitute Members

- * Senator Aden Ridgeway to replace Senator Greig for matters relating to the Indigenous Affairs portfolio
- * Senator Natasha Stott Despoja to replace Senator Grieg for the Committee's inquiry into the establishment of an Australian republic with an Australian Head of State
- ** Senator Buckland replaced Senator Joseph Ludwig (4 December 2003 1 March 2004). Senator Ursula Stephenson (ALP, NSW) was a member prior to 4 December 2003.

Participating Members

Sen the Hon Eric Abetz, LP, Tas Sen Gary Humphries, LP, ACT Sen Andrew Bartlett, AD, Qld (for DIMIA) Sen Susan Knowles, LP, WA Sen Mark Bishop, ALP, WA Sen Meg Lees, APA, SA Sen George Brandis, LP, Old Sen Ross Lightfoot, LP, WA Sen Bob Brown, AG, Tas Senator Joseph Ludwig, ALP, Qld Sen Kim Carr, ALP, Vic Sen Sue Mackay, ALP, Tas Sen Grant Chapman, LP, SA Sen Brett Mason, LP, Qld Sen Trish Crossin, ALP, NT Sen Julian McGauran, NPA, Vic Sen Alan Eggleston, LP, WA Sen Shayne Murphy, Ind, Tas Sen Chris Evans, ALP, WA Sen Kerry Nettle, AG, NSW Sen the Hon John Faulkner, ALP, NSW Sen A. Ridgeway, AD, NSW Sen the Hon Nick Sherry, ALP, Tas Sen Alan Ferguson, LP, SA Sen Jeannie Ferris, LP, SA Sen Natasha Stott Despoja, AD, SA Sen Brian Harradine, Ind, Tas Sen Tsebin Tchen, LP, Vic Sen Len Harris, PHON, Old Sen John Tierney, LP, NSW Sen John Watson, LP, Tas

Secretariat

Ms Louise Gell Secretary (to June 2004)

Mr Phillip Bailey
Ms Kelly Paxman
Ms Sophie Chapple
Ms Julie Dennett
Acting Secretary (from June 2004)
Acting Principal Research Officer
Acting Principal Research Officer

Ms Alison Kelly Principal Research Officer

Mr Mark Stevenson Research Officer

Ms Marina Seminara Executive Assistant (from November 2003)
Ms Julia Clifford Executive Assistant (to November 2003)

Suite S1.61 Telephone (02) 6277 3560
Parliament House Fax: (02) 6277 5794
Email: legcon.sen@aph.gov.au