# **APPENDIX 2**

# WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

# Canberra, Tuesday 12 November 2002

### **Attorney-General's Department**

Mr Richard Glenn, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Security Law and Justice Branch Mr Keith Holland, Assistant Secretary, Security Law and Justice Branch

### Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Steven Marshall, Legal Adviser Mr Dennis Richardson, Director-General of Security

# Canberra, Wednesday 13 November 2002

### **Attorney-General's Department**

Mr Richard Glenn, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Security Law and Justice Branch Mr Keith Holland, Assistant Secretary, Security Law and Justice Branch

### Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Steven Marshall, Legal Adviser Mr Dennis Richardson, Director-General of Security

Professor George Williams (private capacity)

# Canberra, Thursday 14 November 2002

Australian Federal Police Commissioner Michael Keelty, Commissioner

Dr Greg Carne (private capacity)

# Canberra, Monday 18 November 2002

### **Attorney-General's Department**

Mr Richard Glenn, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Security Law and Justice Branch Mr Keith Holland, Assistant Secretary, Security Law and Justice Branch Mr Geoff McDonald, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law Branch

### **Australian Federal Police Association**

Mr Jonathan Hunt-Sharman, National President Mr Craig Shannon, Principal Industrial Officer Mr James Torr, Project Manager

### Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Steven Marshall, Legal Adviser Mr Dennis Richardson, Director-General of Security

# Melbourne, Friday 22 November 2002

## Victorian Bar

Mr Lex Lasry QC Mr Jacob Fajgenbaum QC, Chairman, Human Rights Committee

Federation of Community Legal Centres (Vic) Inc.

Ms Kate Allan, Member, Human Rights Working Group Mr Damian Lawson, Spokesperson

# Islamic Council of Victoria

Mr Asad Ansari, Member Mr Bilal Cleland, Human Rights Coordinator

### John Fairfax Holdings Ltd

*Mr Michael Gawenda, Associate Publisher and Editor, The Age Mr Bruce Wolpe, Manager, Corporate Affairs* 

### Law Institute of Victoria

Ms Claire Mahon, Member, Young Lawyers' Section, Law Reform Committee Ms Yvette Nash, Co-Chair, Young Lawyers' Law Reform Committee Ms Karyn Palmer, Co-Chair, Young Lawyers' Law Reform Committee Mr Erskine Rodan, Councillor

### **Liberty Victoria**

Mr Gregory Connellan, President Mr Christopher Maxwell QC, Immediate Past President

Dr Stephen Donaghue (private capacity)

Dr Gavan Griffith QC (private capacity)

# Sydney, Tuesday 26 November 2002

**Attorney-General's Department** *Mr Richard Glenn, Acting Principal Legal Officer, Security Law and Justice Branch* 

**Australian Federation of Islamic Councils Inc.** *Mr Amjad Mehboob, Chief Executive Officer* 

# Australian Lawyers for Human Rights

Mr Simeon Beckett, Committee Member Ms Katherine Eastman, Member, Executive Committee Mr Simon Rice, President

## Australian Security Intelligence Organisation

Mr Steven Marshall, Legal Adviser Mr Dennis Richardson, Director-General of Security

#### **Criminal Defence Lawyers Association (NSW)**

Mr Phillip Boulten, Convenor

# International Commission of Jurists

Justice John Dowd, President, Australian Section

### **Islamic Council of New South Wales**

Mr Ali Roude, Chairman

### Law Council of Australia

Ms Christine Harvey, Deputy Secretary-General Mr Stephen Southwood, Treasurer Mr Bret Walker SC, Member and President of New South Wales Bar Association

Mr Stephen Hopper (private capacity)

Mr Mohammed Kadous (private capacity)