APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE

Public Seminar, Wednesday 25 October 2000 (Canberra)

Sponsored jointly by the Australian Institute of Administrative Law and by the Senate Legal and Constitutional Legislation Committee

Key Speakers:

The Honourable Daryl Williams QC, Attorney-General

Mr Robert McClelland, Shadow Attorney-General

Senator Brian Greig, Australian Democrats

Senator Andrew Bartlett, Australian Democrats

Dr Kathryn Cronin, Deputy President, Australian Law Reform Commission

Justice Deirdre O'Connor, President, Administrative Appeals Tribunal

Ms Sandra Power, Assistant Secretary, Administrative and Procedural Justice Branch, Attorney-General's Department

Ms Margaret Carstairs, Principal Member, Social Security Appeals Tribunal

Ms Robyn Creyke, Reader, ANU Law Faculty; Member, Administrative Review Council

Ms Anne Trimmer, President, Law Council of Australia

Ms Sandra Koller, Principal Solicitor, National Welfare Rights Network

Dr Peter Nygh, Principal Member, Refugee Review Tribunal

Mr Doug Walker, Assistant Secretary Visa Framework Branch, Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Professor Dennis Pearce, ANU Law Faculty: Special Councsel, Phillips Fox

Ms Sue Tongue, Principal Member, Migration Review Tribunal

Public Hearing, Wednesday 15 November 2000 (Melbourne)

Mr Peter Johnston, Private capacity

Mr Ivan Jaffit, Solicitor, Family and Civil Law Division, Victoria Legal Aid

Mr Don Lucas, Solicitor, Family and Civil Law Division, Victoria Legal Aid

Mr Matthew Groves, Legal Policy Officer, Victorian Bar Association

Mr Peter Hanks QC, Victorian Bar Association

Mr Richard Niall, Victorian Bar Association

Ms Maureen Germein, Welfare Services Manager and Welfare Officer, Flinders University Union Welfare Service

Mr Mark Leahy, Volunteer Coordinator, Welfare Rights Centre, South Australia

Dr Rory Hudson, (Private capacity)

Ms Margaret Carstairs, Acting Executive Director, Social Security Appeals Tribunal

Ms Joan Dwyer, (Private capacity)

Mrs Hilary Elspeth Hallowes, (Private Capacity)

Mr Graham McDonald, (Private Capacity)

Public Hearing, Monday 4 December 2000 (Canberra)

Mr John Godfrey, Deputy Principal Member, Refugee Review Tribunal Dr Peter Nygh, Acting Principal Member, Refugee Review Tribunal Mr Noel Barnsley, Acting Registrar, Migration Review Tribunal Ms Susanne Tongue, Acting Principal Member, Migration Review Tribunal Mr Timothy McCombe, President, Vietnam Veterans Federation of Australia Mr Graham Walker, Honorary Research Officer, Vietnam Veterans Federation of Australia Associate Professor Robin Creyke, Member, Administrative Review Council Ms Bettie McNee, President, Administrative Review Council Mr Matthew Minogue, Executive Officer, Administrative Review Council

Public Hearing, Wednesday 12 December 2000 (Sydney)

Ms Sandra Koller, Principal Solicitor, Welfare Rights Centre, Sydney and Delegate, National Welfare Rights Network

Mr Stephen Langman, Solicitor, Welfare Rights and Legal Centre, ACT and Delegate, National Welfare Rights Network

Dr Kathryn Cronin, Deputy President, Australian Law Reform Commission

Professor David Weisbrot, President, Australian Law Reform Commission

Ms Susan Mountford, Branch Secretary, Victorian Branch, Community and Public Sector Union

Dr John Griffiths, Barrister, Law Council of Australia

Mr Alan Robertson, Barrister, on behalf of the Law Council of Australia

Ms Anne Trimmer, President, Law Council of Australia

Ms Jill Anderson, Policy Resource Coordinator, Law and Justice, Australian Council of Social Service

Mr Michael Raper, President, Australian Council of Social Service

Ms Kathy Leigh, Acting First Assistant Secretary, Attorney-General's Department

Dr James Popple, Director, Tribunal Reform, Attorney-General's Department

Ms Sandra Power, Acting Assistant Secretary, Administrative and Procedural Justice Branch, Civil Justice Division, Attorney-General's Department

Mr Alexander Anderson, Assistant Secretary, Legal Policy Branch, Workplace Relations Policy and Legal Group, Department of Employment, Workplace Relations and Small Business

Mr Iain Anderson, Assistant Commissioner, Office of Chief Tax Counsel, Australian Taxation Office

Mr John Cooper, Director, Administrative Law, Department of Family and Community Services

Mrs Helen Fleming, Chief Legal Adviser, Department of Family and Community Services

Mr Paul Pirani, Branch Head, Legal Services Group, Department of Veterans' Affairs

Mr Douglas Walker, Assistant Secretary, Visa Framework Branch, Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs