APPENDIX 2

Witnesses who appeared before the committee

Friday, 9 September 2011 – Perth WA

Western Australia Police

Assistant Commissioner Nicholas Anticich, Specialist Crime Portfolio

Detective Superintendent Charles Carver, Serious and Organised Crime Branch

Acting Detective Inspector Hamish McKenzie, Officer in Charge, Proceeds of Crime Squad

Corruption and Crime Commission of WA

Mr Mark Herron, Acting Commissioner

Mr Robert Sutton, Acting Director, Operations

Mr Paul White, Senior Financial Investigator

Friday, 4 November 2011 – Canberra ACT

Australian Federal Police

Commander Ian McCartney, Manager Criminal Assets

Mr Peter Whowell, Manager Government Relations

Mrs Elsa Sengstock, Coordinator, Legislation Program

Ms Sylvia Grono, Coordinator, Criminal Assets

Australian Crime Commission

Mrs Karen Harfield, Executive Director Fusion, Target Development and Performance

Mr Richard Grant, National Manager, Target Development

Ms Philippa de Veau, National Manager Legal Services

Ms Kate Deakin, Regional Legal Manager, Sydney

Australian Tax Office

Mr Michael Cranston, Deputy Commissioner

Mr William Day, Assistant Commissioner, Serious Non-Compliance

Mr John Ford, Assistant Commissioner, Serious Non-Compliance

Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

Mr Graeme Davidson, Deputy Director

Ms Rebecca Ashcroft, National Coordinator, Criminal Assets

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Iain Anderson, First Assistant Secretary

Ms Brooke Hartigan, Principal Legal Officer

Civil Liberties Australia

Mr Bill Rowlings, Chief Executive Officer

Friday, 10 February 2012 – Canberra ACT

Australian Federal Police

Commander Ian McCartney, Manager, Criminal Assets

Mr David Gray, Manager, Proceeds of Crime Litigation

Mrs Elsa Sengstock, Coordinator, Legislation Program

Ms Sylvia Grono, Coordinator, Proceeds of Crime

Australian Crime Commission

Mr John Lawler, Chief Executive Officer

Ms Kate Deakin, Regional Legal Manager, Sydney

Mrs Karen Harfield, Executive Director

Ms Philippa de Veau, National Manager, Legal Services

Attorney-General's Department

Mr Iain Anderson, First Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Division

Ms Sarah Chidgey, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Division

Police Federation of Australia

Mr Mark Burgess, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Angus Skinner, Research Officer

Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions

Mr Graeme Davidson, Deputy Director

Ms Rebecca Ashcroft, Acting National Coordinator of Criminal Assets

Law Council of Australia (via teleconference)

Mr Tim Game SC, Co-chair, National Criminal Law Committee

Ms Rosemary Budavari, Co-director, Criminal Law and Human Rights

Dr David Neal SC, Member, National Criminal Law Committee

ARC Centre for Excellence in Policing and Security

Professor Roderic Broadhurst

Wednesday, 7 March 2012 – Canberra ACT

Commissioner Tony Negus, Australian Federal Police

Mr Michael Carmody, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Customs and Border Protection Service

Commissioner Michael D'Ascenzo, Australian Taxation Office

Mr John Lawler APM, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Crime Commission

Mr Greg Medcraft, Chairman, Australian Securities and Investments Commission

Mr Iain Anderson, First Assistant Secretary, Attorney-General's Department

Mr Roman Quaedvlieg, Chief Police Officer, ACT Policing

Commissioner John McRoberts, Northern Territory Police, Fire and Emergency Services

Ms Kathryn Gleeson, Lawyer, Solicitor for the Northern Territory

Mr Robert Atkinson, Commissioner of Police, Queensland Police Service

Mr Darren Hine, Commissioner of Police, Tasmania Police

Mr Malcolm Hyde, Commissioner of Police, South Australia Police

Mr Kenneth Lay, Chief Commissioner, Victoria Police

Deputy Commissioner Graham Ashton AM, Crime and Operations Support, Victoria Police

The Hon Greg Smith SC MP, NSW Attorney General and Minister for Justice (by teleconference)