APPENDIX 2

Public Hearings and Witnesses

Thursday, 8 April 2010 Council meeting Room, Civic Centre, Wagga Wagga

Committee Members in attendance:

Senator Scott Ryan (Chair)

Senator Helen Polley (Deputy Chair)

Senator Doug Cameron

Senator Helen Kroger

Senator John Williams

Senator the Hon Bill Heffernan

Senator Barnaby Joyce

Senator Fiona Nash

Witnesses

NSW Department of Environment, Climate Change and Water

Mr Tom Grosskopf, Director, Landscapes and Ecosystems Conservation Dr David Curtis, Principal Policy Officer

Australian Network of Environmental Defender's Offices via teleconference

Ms Rachel Walmsley, Policy Director

Mr Robert Ghanem, Policy Officer

NSW Farmers Association

Mr Charles Armstrong, President

Mr Rod Young, Chairman of the Conservation and Resource Management Committee

National Farmers' Federation

Mr Charles Mcelhone, Manager- Economics and Trade

Mrs Denita Wawm, General Manager, Workplace & Corporate Relations

Mrs Deborah Kerr, Manage, Natural Resource Management

Australian Environment Foundation

Mr Max Rheese, Executive Director

Mr Ben Nicholls

Mr John Stewart

Mr Garth Strong

Mrs Jan Strong

Friday, 9 April 2010

Elizabethan Room, Leichhardt Hotel, Rockhampton

Committee Members in attendance:

Senator Scott Ryan (Chair)

Senator Doug Cameron

Senator Helen Kroger

Senator Barnaby Joyce

Senator the Hon Ian Macdonald

Witnesses

Property Rights Australia

Mr Ron Bahnisch, Chairman Mr Graham Kenny, Consultant

Carbon Sense Coalition

Mr Viv Forbes, Chairman

AgForce

Mr John Cotter, President Mr Andrew Wagner, Policy Director

p&e Law

Mr Lestar Manning, Partner

Mrs Catherine Herbert

Mr Ian Herbert

Mr Graham Kenny

Dr Lee McNicholl

Ms Dixie Nott

Mr Dale Stiller

Tuesday, 20 April 2010

Committee Meeting Room 2, Perth Legislative Assembly, Perth

Committee Members in attendance:

Senator Scott Ryan (Chair)

Senator Helen Polley (Deputy Chair)

Senator Rachel Siewert

Senator the Hon David Johnston

Witnesses

Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists

Mr Peter Cosier, Director

Pastoralists and Graziers Association of Western Australia

Mr Leon Bradley, Spokesperson on Climate

Mr Robert Klassen, Committee member and landholder

Mr Gary Peacock, Chairman, Private Property Rights and Natural Resource Management Committee

Mr Glen McLeod, Lawyer

Mr Craig Jefferson Underwood

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

Ms Margaret Allan, Acting General Manager

Mr Ian Thompson, Executive Manager, Sustainable Resource Management Division Dr Rosemary Lott, Senior Policy Officer, Sustainable Agriculture Policy Section

Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Mr Peter Burnett, First Assistant Secretary, Approvals and Wildlife Division Mr Terry Bailey, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Policy, Approvals and Wildlife Division

Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency

Mr Ian Carruthers, First Assistant Secretary, Adaptation, Land and Communications Division

Mr Barry Sterland, First Assistant Secretary, Adaptation, Land and Communications Division

Mr Tas Sakellaris, Assistant Secretary, Coverage and Legislation Branch

Western Australian Farmers Federation

Mr Alan Hill, Director of Policy

Mr Dale Park, Climate Change and Natural Resource Management Spokesman

Coalition for Agricultural Productivity

Mrs Janet Thompson, Representative, Coalition for Agricultural Productivity Mr Matt Thompson, Representative, Coalition for Agricultural Productivity

The Hon Murray Nixon