Appendix 2

Witnesses who appeared before the Committee

Canberra, 18 October 2002 (Roundtable discussion)

Mr Timothy Curtin, Visiting Fellow, National Centre for Development Studies, Australian National University

Dr Bronwen Douglas, Senior Fellow, State, Society and Governance in Melanesia Project, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University

Ms Nicole George, PhD student, Australian National University

Mr David Hegarty, Adjunct Senior Fellow and Convenor, State, Society and Governance in Melanesia Project, Australian National University

Professor Grant McCall, Director, Centre for South Pacific Studies, University of New South Wales

Ms Abby McLeod, Visiting Fellow, Australian National University

Mr Michael Morgan, Associate, PhD scholar and Consultant, State, Society and Governance in Melanesia Project, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University

Professor Hank Nelson, Australian National University

Emeritus Professor Maev O'Collins, Visiting Fellow, Department of Political and Social Change, Australian National University

Mr John Anthony Piper (Private capacity)

Dr Jaap Timmer, Research Fellow, Australian National University

Canberra, 18 October 2002

Mr Richard Bomford, Director, International Regional Unit, Environment Australia, Department of the Environment and Heritage

Mr Mark Hyman, Assistant Secretary, International and Intergovernmental Branch, Environment Australia, Department of the Environment and Heritage

Ms Nadia Sirianni, Adviser, International Region Unit, International and Intergovernmental Branch, Environment Australia, Department of the Environment and Heritage

Mr Peter Spencer (Private capacity)

Ms Neva Wendt, Pacific Policy Officer, Australian Council for Overseas Aid

Canberra, 25 October 2002

Ms Joanne Blackburn, First Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Division, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department

Mr Graham Fletcher, Assistant Secretary, Pacific Islands Branch, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Chris Hodges, Principal Legal Officer, Criminal Justice Division, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department

Mr Nicholas Maclellan (Private capacity)

Ms Annmaree O'Keeffe, Deputy Director General, Pacific, Contracts and Corporate Policy, AusAID

Mr John Oliver, Assistant Secretary, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea Branch, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Pat Stortz, Manager, South East Asia and Pacific Markets Office, Austrade

Mr Charles Tapp, Deputy Director General, Papua New Guinea and Global Programs, AusAID

Mr David Templeman, Director–General, Emergency Management Australia, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department

Ms Margaret Thomas, Assistant Director General, South Pacific Branch, AusAID

Brisbane, 18 February 2003

Mr Sean Dorney (Private capacity)

Dr Colin Hunt (Private capacity)

Ms Maxine Pitts (Private capacity)

Dr Geoffrey Stocker (Private capacity)

Sydney, 19 February 2003

Mr Brian Brunton, Alotau Environment Ltd

Mr Trevor Burns, Head, Government and Parliamentary Relations, Corporate Affairs Division, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Mr Stephen Campbell, Forests Team Leader, Greenpeace Australia Pacific

Mr John Doherty, Head, International Relations, ABC Asia Pacific, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Mr Ian Kennedy, Director, Ian Kennedy and Associates

Doctor Rosemary Kinne, Trustee, Dominican Sisters of Eastern Australia and Solomon Islands

Doctor Margaret Leavey, Member, Dominican Sisters of Eastern Australia and Solomon Islands

Mr Jean-Gabriel Manguy, Head, Radio Australia, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Mr Shane Rattenbury, Political Liaison Officer, Greenpeace Australia Pacific

Ms Marilynne Smith, Manager International Training, Training, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Ms Lee Tan, Co-ordinator, Asia-Pacific Unit, Australian Conservation Foundation

Mr James Thomson, National Education and Advocacy Officer, National Council of Churches in Australia, National Program on Refugees and Displaced Persons

Melbourne, 20 February 2003

Mr David Brown, Regional Manager, Overseas and Indigenous Australia Programs, Oxfam Community Aid Abroad

Mr John Donnelly, Program Officer for Papua New Guinea, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu and Philippines, World Vision Australia

Ms Margaret Douglas, CEO, Save the Children Australia

Ms Catherine Emery Pacific Program Manager, Save the Children Australia

Mr James Ensor, Director, Public Policy, Oxfam Community Aid Abroad

Ms Dimity Fifer, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Volunteers International

Ms ElsieHallahan, AO, Board Chair, Save the Children Australia

Ms Elizabeth Hogan, Manager, In Country Programs, Australian Volunteers International

Ms Patricia Jessen, Senior Manager, PNG/Pacific Region, Australian Volunteers International

Mr Robert Lyon, President, Australia Pacific Islands Business Council, and Vice-President, Australia Papua New Guinea Business Council

Mr Ross Porter, President, Australia Fiji Business Council, and Vice-President, Australia Pacific Islands Business Council

Mr Frank Yourn, Executive Director, Australia Fiji Business Council, Australia Papua New Guinea Business Council, and Australia Pacific Islands Business Council

Canberra, 27 March 2003

Mr Chris Barnes, Law Enforcement Cooperation Program Manager Pacific Region, Australian Federal Police

Mr David Callaghan, Manager Government Affairs, Qantas Airways Ltd

Federal Agent Shane Castles, General Manager International, Australian Federal Police

Ms Yole Daniels, Assistant Secretary, Offshore Asylum Seeker Processing Branch, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Alan Matheson, International Officer, Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Vince McMahon, Executive Coordinator, Offshore Centre Management and Infrastructure Division, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Abul Khair Rizvi, First Assistant Secretary, Migration and Temporary Entry Division, Department of Immigration and Multicultural and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Rodney Williams, General Manager Alliances, Qantas Airways Ltd

Canberra, 28 March 2003

Mr Gerea Aopi, General Manager (Papua New Guinea), Oil Search Ltd

Mr Kenneth Baxter, Policy Adviser to Chief Secretary, Office of Chief Secretary, Prime Minister's Department, Government of Papua New Guinea

Mr Peter Botten, Managing Director, Oil Search Ltd

Dr Robert Glasser, Assistant Director-General, Papua New Guinea Branch, Australian Agency for International Development

Mr Mark Hobson, Pacific Program Officer, International Programs, Christian World Service, National Council of Churches in Australia

Professor Helen Hughes, Senior Fellow, Centre for Independent Studies

Mr Joshua Kalinoe, Chief Secretary, Prime Minister's Department, Government of Papua New Guinea

LOHIA, His Excellency Mr Renagi R., High Commissioner, High Commission of the Independent State of Papua New Guinea, Canberra

Mr Timothy O'Connor, Aid Campaigner, AID/WATCH

Ms Annmaree O'Keeffe, Deputy Director-General, Pacific, Contracts and Corporate Policy, Australian Agency for International Development

Mr Doug Schwebel, Papua New Guinea Gas Project Director, ExxonMobil

Ms Margaret Thomas, Assistant Director-General, Pacific Branch, Australian Agency for International Development

Ms Kate Walsh, Campaigner, AID/WATCH

Mr Chris Welberry, Government Affairs Adviser, ExxonMobil