# LIST OF WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

### Monday, 20 July 1998

Dr Debesh Bhattacharya

Mr Denis Doherty, National Co-ordinator, Australian Anti-Bases Campaign Coalition, and State Secretary, Pax Christi of New South Wales

Dr Marianne Hanson

Dr Mohan Malik

Dr James Masselos

Mr Hamish McDonald

## Tuesday, 21 July 1998

Department of Defence

Mr Allan Behm, Head, International Policy Division

Australian Safeguards Office

Mr John Carlson, Director of Safeguards

Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Mr Brent Davis, Head of International Group and Director, Trade and Policy Research

Mr John Martin, Executive Director

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Timothy George, Assistant Secretary, South Asia and Indian Ocean Branch

Mr John Griffin, Director, Conventional and Nuclear Disarmament Section

Mr Peter Howarth, Director, Nuclear Non-Proliferation Section

Ms Deborah Stokes, First Assistant Secretary, International Security Division

Australian Defence Organisation

Ms Adrienne Jackson, Director General, Major Powers and Global Security Branch

Australian Geological Survey Organisation

Dr Kenneth Muirhead, Research Group Leader, Seismic Monitoring

Australian National University

Professor Amin Saikal, Centre for Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies, Faculty of Arts

**AusAID** 

Mr Murray Proctor, Assistant Director General, Corporate Policy and South Asia Branch

Mr Raspal Khosa

Dr William Maley

Mr Harun Rashid

#### Wednesday, 22 July 1998

Medical Association for Prevention of War

Ms Judith Blyth, Branch Coordinator

Dr Harry Cohen, Vice-President

Dr Peter Masters, Acting Treasurer

People for Nuclear Disarmament

Mr Graham Daniell, Committee Member

Ms Patricia Keady, Member

Ms Brenda Roy, Treasurer

University of Western Australia

Mr Kabilan Krishnasamy, Doctoral Candidate, Department of Political Science

Dr Samuel Makinda, Senior Lecturer in International Politics, Department of Political Science

Dr Roderic Pitty, Visiting Lecturer in International Relations, Department of Political Science

Miss Angelina Tang, Masters Student, Department of Political Science

Dr Samina Yasmeen, Senior Lecturer in International Politics, Department of Political Science Curtin University of Technology

Professor Kenneth McPherson, Director, Indian Ocean Centre Mr Alexei Mouraviev, Director, Section of Russia's Studies, Asia-Pacific International Relations/Strategic Studies Research Group, School of Social Sciences and Asian Languages

Dr Yasuo Takao, Senior Researcher/Lecturer, Asia-Pacific International Relations/Strategic Studies Research Group, School of Social Sciences and Asian Languages

### Friday, 7 August 1998

Monash University
Associate Professor Ian Copland, Director, Centre of
South Asian Studies

La Trobe University

Dr Peter Friedlander, Open Learning Hindi Co-ordinator Australia-India Business Council Mr Alister Maitland, Chairman

International Trade Strategies
Mr Alan Oxley, Director

People for Nuclear Disarmament Ms Brenda Roy, Treasurer

Hon James Kennan QC

Mr Christopher Snedden

Associate Professor Marika Vicziany

#### Friday, 4 December 1998

### Department of Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade

Ms Deborah Stokes, First Assistant Secretary, International Security Division

Mr Graeme Lade, Director, South Asia and Regional Issues Section

Dr Peter Howarth, Director, Non-Poliferation Policy Section

Mr John Griffin, Director, Conventional and Nuclear Disarmament Section

Mr Robert Owen-Jones, Executive Officer, Conventional and Nuclear Disarmament Section

Mr Guy Summers, CTBT Desk Officer.