## The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

## THE 1998 INDIAN AND PAKISTANI NUCLEAR TESTS

## REPORT OF THE SENATE FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

**JUNE 1999** 



## MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE

**Current** Senator John Hogg, ALP, Qld (Chair)

Members Senator Sandy Macdonald, NPA, NSW (Deputy Chair)

Senator Vicki Bourne, AD, NSW (from 12.5.99)

Senator Ross Lightfoot, LP, WA Senator John Quirke, ALP, SA Senator Sue West, ALP, NSW

**Current** Senator Eric Abetz, LP, Tas

**Participating Members** Senator the Hon Nick Bolkus, ALP, SA

Senator Ron Boswell, NPA, Qld Senator Bob Brown, TG, WA

Senator the Hon David Brownhill, NPA, NSW

Senator Mal Colston, Ind, Qld

Senator the Hon Peter Cook, ALP, WA (from 3.12.98)

Senator Alan Eggleston, LP, WA (from 9.12.98) Senator the Hon John Faulkner, ALP, NSW Senator Michael Forshaw, ALP, NSW

Senator Brenda Gibbs, ALP, Qld (from 3.12.98)

Senator Brian Harradine, Ind, Tas Senator Dee Margetts, GWA, WA

Senator Julian McGauran, NPA, Vic (from 3.12.98)

**Former** Senator the Hon Peter Cook, ALP, WA (to 9.11.98)

**Members** Senator Alan Eggleston, LP, WA (to 3.12.98)

Senator Brenda Gibbs, ALP, Qld (to 3.12.98) Senator John Woodley, AD, Qld (to 12.5.99)

**Former** Senator the Hon Paul Calvert, LP, Tas (to 24.11.98)

**Participating Members** Senator Grant Chapman, LP, SA (to 24.11.98)

Senator the Hon Chris Schacht, ALP, SA (to 24.11.98)

**Secretariat** Mr Paul Barsdell, Secretary

Dr Kathleen Dermody, Principal Research Officer

Ms Loes Baker, Senior Research Officer Ms Pamela Corrigan, Research Officer Ms Laurie Cassidy, Executive Assistant

The Senate

Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600