# **APPENDIX 2**

# WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

#### Monday, 19 July 1999—Adelaide

Campaign for an Independent East Timor (SA) Inc Mr Andrew Alcock, Information Officer Mr Bob Hanney, Secretary Mr Agostinho Moniz, Member Dr Michael Parsons, Executive Committee Member Ms Miriam Tonkin, Treasurer

*East Timor Study Group* Mr Helder da Costa, Director, Economy and Technology

Adelaide Justice Coalition Dr Julie-Ann Ellis, Adherent Ms Joyce Van Der Sman, Organising Secretary Ms Susan Shephard, Spokesperson

Catholic Church, Semaphore Parish Father Roy Richardson, Parish Priest

Noarlunga Downs-Seaford Catholic Church Ms Patricia Peak, Pastoral Associate

Private capacity Professor Colin Brown

#### Tuesday, 20 July 1999—Perth

2<sup>nd</sup>/2<sup>nd</sup> Commando Association of Australia Mr Raymond Aitken, Life Member Mr John Burridge Mr John Carey, Secretary Mr Les Cranfield Mr Robert Smyth, Life Member

Peace Brigades International Ms Anne Wayne, Co-convener Mr Shane Guthrie, Co Convener

Woodside Energy Limited Dr Daljit Gill, Gas Business Manager Mr Hans Hirschmanner, Senior Lawyer Mr Keith Spence, Manager

#### Private capacity

Mr David Bourchier Dr Gaynor Dawson Mr Michael Grant Professor David Hill Mr John McCarthy Professor James Warren

Group of Concerned Western Australian Scholars Ms Tania Lawrence, Spokesperson

Friends of East Timor (Western Australia) Dr Frank Legge, Member Ms Cathy Taylor

Actions in Solidarity with Indonesia and East Timor Ms Julia Perkins, Western Australia Coordinator

East Timorese Community in Perth Mr Francisco Soares, Community Leader

#### Friday, 13 August 1999—Canberra

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Mr John Dauth, Deputy Secretary
Mr Chris Moraitis, East Timor Task Force
Mr Neil Mules, Secretary, Maritime South East Asia Branch
Ms Gillian Bird, First Assistant Secretary, South and South East Asia
Division
Ms Carolyn Bull, Executive Officer, East Timor Task Force

#### AusAID

Mr Gordon Munro, Director, Humanitarian and Emergencies Section Ms Tracey Newbury, Country Program Manager, East Timor Subsection Ms Jennifer Rawson, Deputy Director General, Asia and Corporate Division

Australian Council for Overseas Aid

Ms Janet Hunt, Executive Director Mr Andrew Nette, Policy Officer

Embassy of Portugal

His Excellency Mr Zozimo Justo da Silva, Ambassador

Private capacity Professor James Cotton

#### Friday, 27 August 1999—Melbourne

Victorian Foundation for the Survivors of Torture Ms Lynne Haultain, Acting Chair, Committee of Management Mr Paris Aristotle, Director Dr Ida Kaplan, Direct Services Coordinator

Mercy East Timor Health Network Ms Margaret Halliday, Social Worker and Founding Member Miss Isabel Guterres, Member

Australians for a Free East Timor Mr Jim Aubrey, Spokesperson

East Timor Human Rights Centre Bishop Hilton Deakin, Chair Ms Ana Noronha, Executive Director Community Aid Abroad Mr James Ensor, Advocacy Manager Ms Lia Kent, Policy Coordinator

Northern Birthing Support Service Miss Martine Taylor, Founding Member, and Manager

#### Wednesday, 8 September 1999—Darwin

Philips Oil Company Australia Mrs Karen Brand, Senior Attorney Mr James Godlove, Darwin Area Manager

Northern Territory Government

Mr Brian Ely, Secretary, Department of Asian Relations and Trade Mr Geoffrey Farnell, Deputy Secretary, Department of Mines & Energy

East Timor International Support Dr Andrew McNaughtan, Spokesperson

Australians for a Free East Timor Mr Robert Wesley-Smith, Spokesperson

#### Thursday, 9 September 1999—Darwin

Campaign for an Independent East Timor Mr William Fisher, Committee Member

International Federation for East Timor Mr Charles Scheiner, UN Representative

Centre for Southern Asian Studies Dr Dennis Shoesmith, Senior Lecturer

Private capacity Mr Peter Spillett Mr Matthew Coffey

#### Friday, 10 September 1999—Sydney

Caritas Australia Mr John Scott-Murphy, Public Policy and Advocacy Adviser

Private capacity Dr Geoffrey Hull Dr James Goodman

#### Wednesday, 15 September 1999—Canberra

Paxiquest Dr Robert Murfet, Director Mr Mark Plunkett, Director Lt General John Sanderson (Retd), Chairman of Directors Mr Gary Wood, Research Assistant

#### Monday, 20 September 1999—Canberra

Private capacity Dr Harold Crouch Mr Robert Lowry

#### Friday, 24 September 1999—Canberra

Private capacity Associate Professor Hugh Smith Mr James Dunn Mr Alan Dupont

#### Wednesday, 3 November 1999—Sydney

Australian Catholic Social Justice Council Bishop Kevin Manning, Chairman Sister Suzette Clark, Research and Projects Officer

Bishops Committee for Justice, Development and Peace Bishop William Brennan, Chairman Mary MacKillop Institute of East Timorese Studies Sister Susan Connelly

Key Centre for Ethics, Law, Justice and Governance, Griffith University Professor Charles Sampford, Director

## APHEDA

Ms Alison Tate, Project Officer

Private capacity Dr Peter Bartu Mr Bruce Haigh

#### Thursday, 4 November 1999—Sydney

International Commission of Jurists Justice John Dowd, Chairman Mr Nicholas Cowdery, QC Mr Edward Aspinall Ms Elizabeth Biok Mr Rodney Lewis The Hon Janelle Saffin

#### Amnesty International Australia

Mr Des Hogan, Refugee CoordinatorTeam Mr Anthony O'Connor, Convenor

Private capacity Dr Michael Van Langenberg Mr Hamish McDonald The Hon Thomas Uren Dr Gerry Van Klinken

#### Thursday, 11 November 1999—Canberra

Attorney General's Department

Mr William Campbell, First Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law

Mr Mark Jennings, Senior Adviser, Office of International Law

Australian Electoral Commission

Mr Bill Gray, Electoral Commissioner Mr Michael Maley, Director, Research and International Services

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr Michael Potts, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division Mr Michael Thwaites, Director, Sea Law, Environmental Law and Antarctic Policy, Legal Branch Mr Greg French, Executive Officer, Legal Branch

Department of Defence

Air Commodore Kerry Clarke, Director-General of Joint Operations Mr Michael Scrafton, Head, East Timor Policy Unit

Department of Industry, Science and Resources

Mr Stephen Payne, General Manager, Petroleum Exploration and Development Branch

Dr Patricia Wells, Assistant Manager, Petroleum Exploration and Development Branch

Mr John Kjar, Manager, Petroleum Exploration and Development Branch

*Private capacity* 

Dr William Maley Dr Kenneth Chan

#### Thursday, 18 November 1999—Melbourne

East Timor Relief Association Mr Abel Guterres, Chairman

Australian Council for Overseas Aid Mr Patrick Walsh, Human Rights Coordinator Australia Defence Association Mr Michael O'Connor, Executive Director

Private capacity Dr Helen Hill Ms Sue Downie Dr Damien Kingsbury

#### Monday, 6 December 1999—Canberra

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr John Dauth, Deputy Secretary Mr Michael Potts, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division Mr Neil Mules, Assistant Secretary, Maritime South East Asia Branch Ms Gillian Bird, First Assistant Secretary, South and South East Asia Division Mr Chris Moraitis, Director, East Timor Taskforce

AusAID

Mr Anthony Dawson, Assistant Director General, Indonesia, China and Philippines Branch

Mr Steve Darville, Humanitarian and Emergencies Program Manager, East Timor Section

Private capacity

The Hon E G Whitlam, QC

## Thursday, 9 December 1999—Canberra

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Mr John Dauth, Deputy Secretary

Gillian Bird, First Assistant Secretary, South and South East Asia Division

Mr Michael Potts, First Assistant Secretary, International Organisations and Legal Division

Mr Neil Mules, Assistant Secretary, Maritime South East Asia Branch

AusAID

Mr Anthony Dawson, Assistant Director General, Indonesia, China and Philippines Branch.