APPENDIX 1

SUBMISSIONS AND SUPPLEMENTARY SUBMISSIONS AUTHORISED FOR PUBLICATION BY THE COMMITTEE

Adelaide Justice Coalition (Submission 30)

Ambassador of Portugal, Mr Zozimo Justo da Silva (Submission 40)

Amnesty International Australia (Submission 46)

Professor H W Arndt, Research School, Pacific and Asian Studies, Australia National University (Submission 2)

Attorney-General's Department (Submission 62)

Australia East Timor Association (Submission 49)

Australian Catholic Bishops Committee for Justice, Development and Peace (Submission 85)

Australian Catholic Social Justice Council (Submission 24)

Australian Council for Overseas Aid (Submission 66)

Australia Defence Association (Submission 54)

Dr James Cotton, Head, Australian Defence Studies Centre (Submission 35)

Australian Electoral Commission (Submissions 98 and 98A)

Australian People for Health, Education and Development Abroad Inc. (APHEDA—Union Aid Abroad) (Submission 67)

Australians for a Free East Timor, Victoria (Submission 61)

Mr Steven Thomas Baker (Submission 83)

Dr David Bourchier, School of Asian Studies, University of Western Australia (Submission 77)

Mr L Bray (Submission 14)

Mr Colin Brown, Australian Studies and Languages, Flinders University (Submission 73)

Mr Victor G Brown (Submission 7)

Mr R H Brown (Submission 6)

Campaign for an Independent East Timor (SA) Inc. (Submission 57)

Caritas Australia (Submission 68)

Dr Kenneth Chan (Submission 34)

Charter 89 Society (Submission 56)

Ms Marion Cole (Submission 13)

Community Aid Abroad (Submission 28)

Mr Simon Cook (Submission 1)

Mr Bob Culerbiloon (Submission 100)

Curtain Consulting (Submission 96)

Mr Helder Da Costa and Mr Joao Mariano Saldanha (Submission 70)

Dr Gaynor Dawson (Submission 80)

Mr Simon de Faux (Submission 87)

Department of Defence (Submission 55)

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and AusAID (Submission 52)

Department of Industry, Science and Resources (Submission 63)

East Timor Human Rights Centre (Submission 33)

East Timor Justice Lobby (Submission 53)

East Timor Symposium, Trinity College, Oxford (Submission 41)

Hon Gareth Evans, QC, MP (Submission 21)

Ms Grace Finlayson (Submission 19)

Mr Bill Fisher (Submission 69)

Professor James J Fox, Research School of Pacific and Asian Studies, Australian National University (Submission 37)

Friends of East Timor (Western Australia) (Submission 78)

Mr Bob Fung (Submission 32)

Mr J A Glasgow (Submission 26)

Dr James Goodman, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Technology, New South Wales (Submission 6)

Mr Michael Grant (Submission 82)

Group of Scholars from WA (Submission 79)

Mr Bruce Haigh (Submission 39)

Mr Barry C Hebbard (Submission 18)

Professor David Hill, School of Asian Studies, Murdoch University (Submission 76)

Hobart East Timor Committee (Submission 42)

Hobart Quaker Peace and Justice Committee (Submission 38)

Mr Ian George Hodges (Submission 50)

Dr Geoffrey Hull (Submission 84)

Mr Rick Idrus (Submission 4)

Inner-City TEAR Group (Submission 31)

Mr Peter D Jones (Submission 27)

Ms Karen Joyce (Submission 22)

Mr John Patrick Kenneally (Submission 20)

Mr D and Mrs K Kerr (Submission 16)

Mr Tony Kevin (Submission 101)

Dr Damien Kingsbury, Monash Asia Institute, Monash University (Submission 97)

Messrs G E Lambert, W N Gibbs and J A Corte Real (Submission 47)

Mr Roger Lamey (Submission 44)

Mr David Langsam (Submission 99)

Mr Damian and Ms Rachael le Goullon (Submission 29)

Mr Rodney Lewis (Submission 93)

Lismore Friends of East Timor (Submission 64)

Mr W S Malcolm (Submission 3)

Dr William Maley, School of Politics, University of New South Wales, Australian Defence Force Academy (Submission 91)

Mr Sam Maresh (Submission 74)

Mary McKillop Institute of East Timorese Studies (Submission 59)

Mr Jason McLeod and Ms Manon Leifin (Submission 58)

Mercy Hospital for Women (Submission 65)

Mr J B Miller (Submission 23)

Dr Robert Murfet, Paxiquest Consulting Pty Limited (Submission 94)

Northern Territory Government (Submission 89)

Mr B O'Toole (Submission 8)

Ms Jasmin Packer (Submission 51)

Dr Michael Parsons (Submission 43)

Peace Brigades International (Submission 71)

Ms Patricia Peak and Father Roy Richardson (Submission 81)

Mr John Pilger (Submission 86)

Mr Greg J Pitman (Submission 10)

Mr Mark Plunkett, Pax Group (Submission 92)

Mr Arnold Rowlands (Submission 45)

Mr Michael Ryan (Submission 11)

Mr Ivan Sayer (Submission 9)

Second/Second Commando Association of Australia (Submission 72)

Dr Dennis Shoesmith, Northern Territory University (Submission 90)

Mr P G Spillett (Submission 17)

Mr Michael Unger (Submission 15)

Dr Gerry van Klinken, School of Asian and International Studies, Griffith University (Submission 95)

Victorian Foundation for Survivors of Torture Inc. (Submission 88)

Professor James Warren, School of Asian Studies, Murdoch University (Submission 75)

Mr W Bede Waterford (Submission 12)

Mr Rob Wesley-Smith and Australians for a Free East Timor, Darwin (Submission 48)

West End Catholic Worker Community (Submission 25)

The Hon E G Whitlam, QC (Submission 5)

YWCA of Australia (Submission 60)