The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

EAST TIMOR

FINAL REPORT OF THE SENATE FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

December 2000

© Commonwealth of Australia
ISBN 0642711038
This document is produced from camera-ready copy by the Senate Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade References Committee Secretariat, and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE

Current Senator John Hogg, ALP, Qld (**Chair**)

Members Senator Sandy Macdonald, NPA, NSW (to 30.6.99 and

from 9.5.00) (**Deputy Chair**)

Senator Vicki Bourne, AD, NSW (from 12.5.99)

Senator Steve Hutchins (from 17.8.00) Senator Ross Lightfoot, LP, WA

Senator Sue West, ALP, NSW

Current Participating Members Senator the Hon Eric Abetz, LP, Tas (from 5.12.97)

Senator Lyn Allison, AD, VIC (from 19 10.99)

Senator Andrew Bartlett, AD, Qld (from 19 10.99)

Senator the Hon Nick Bolkus, ALP, SA (from 7.12.98)

Senator the Hon Ron Boswell, NPA, Qld (from 26.11.98)

Senator Bob Brown, TG, Tas (from 18.6.96)

Senator Paul Calvert, LP, Tas (from 24.8.99)

Senator Grant Chapman, LP, SA (from 24.8.99)

Senator the Hon Peter Cook, ALP, WA (from 3.12.98)

Senator Helen Coonan, LP, NSW (from 24.8.99)

Senator Winston Crane, LP, WA (from 24.8.99)

Senator Alan Eggleston, LP, WA (from 8.12.98)

Senator the Hon John Faulkner, ALP, NSW (from 7.12.98)

Senator Alan Ferguson, LP, SA (from 24.8.99)

Senator Jeannie Ferris, LP, SA (from 24.8.99)

Senator Michael Forshaw, ALP, NSW (from 7.4.98)

Senator Brenda Gibbs, ALP, Old (from 3.12.98)

Senator the Hon Brian Gibson, LP, Tas (from 24.8.99)

Senator Brian Harradine, Ind, Tas (from 24.11.98)

Senator Len Harris, PHON, Qld (from 6.10.00)

Senator Susan Knowles, LP, WA (from 24.8.99)

Senator Brett Mason, LP, Old (from 24.8.99)

Senator Julian McGauran, NPA, Vic (from 3.12.98)

Senator Shayne Murphy, ALP, Tas (from 20.10.99)

Senator Marise Payne, LP, NSW (from 24.8.99)

Senator Tsebin Tchen, LP, Vic (from 24.8.99)

Senator John Tierney, LP, NSW (from 24.8.99)

Senator John Watson, LP, Tas (from 24.8.99)

Former Senator the Hon David Brownhill, NPA, NSW (to 14.4.00)

Members Senator the Hon Peter Cook, ALP, WA (to 3.12.98)

Senator Alan Eggleston, LP, WA (to 3.12.98) Senator Brenda Gibbs, ALP, Qld (to 3.12.98)

Senator Sandy Macdonald, NPA, NSW (to 30.6.99)

Senator John Quirke, ALP, SA (to 15.8.00) Senator John Woodley, AD, Qld (to 12.5.99)

Former Senator the Hon David Brownhill, NPA, NSW (to 30.6.99)

Participating Senator Mal Colston, Ind, Qld (to 30.6.99)

Members Senator Steve Hutchins, ALP, NSW (from 23.9.99 to

17.8.00)

Senator Dee Margetts, GWA, WA (to 30.6.99)

Secretariat Mr Paul Barsdell, Secretary

Dr Kathleen Dermody, Principal Research Officer

Dr Robert King, Principal Research Officer Ms Pamela Corrigan, Research Officer Ms Laurie Cassidy, Executive Assistant

The Senate Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: (02) 6277 3535; Fax: (02) 6277 5818

E-mail: fadt.sen@aph.gov.au; website: www.aph.gov.au/senate_fadt