APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Wednesday, 18 October 2000—Fremantle

City of Fremantle

Ms Jill Gaynor, Land Use Planner

Mr Ray Glickman, Chief Executive Officer

Mr David Johnston, Councillor

Ms Agnieshka Kiera, Heritage Architect Planner

Mr Richard Utting, Mayor, City of Fremantle

University of Notre Dame

Mr Terry Craig, Campus Services Manager

Dr Peter Darcy Tannock, Vice-Chancellor

Thursday, 19 October 2000—Fremantle

Army Museum of Western Australia Foundation

Mr Paul Bridges, Deputy Curator

Mr James Richard Dalton, Board Member

Mr John Dewar Deykin, Board Chairman

Mrs Dale Wendy Olson, Secretary, Board of Management

Mr John Raymond Sweetman, Board Member

City precinct of the City of Fremantle

Mr John-Baron Gordon, Precinct Convenor

Fremantle Society

Mr John Dowson, President

Mr Trevor John Knowles, Secretary

Military Historical Society of Australia (WA Branch)

Mr Peter Harvey Bamworth, Secretary and Treasurer

Mr Malcolm Ian Higham, Member

Mr John Raymond Sweetman, Member

Mundaring and Hills Historical Society

Mrs Judith Anne Love, Vice President

Residents Action Group and Precinct 3, City of Fremantle

Mr Stephen William Anstey, Spokesperson

Mr Patrick John Howard, Member

Returned and Services League of Australia, Western Australian Branch

Mr Ken Bladen, State President

Mr Don Hall, Member, State Executive

Mr Geoff Hourne, Member, State Executive

Royal Western Australian Historical Society (Inc.)

Mr Ronald Barrie Bodycoat, Member of Council and Honorary Architect

Private capacity

Dr Ian Christopher Alexander

Mr Paul Bridges

Mr Peter David Dobie

Mr John-Baron Gordon

Mr Ian Gilbert Handcock

Mr William James Haskell

Mr Royce Kerridge

Mr Anthony Thomas Lloyd

Mr Brian Lockwood

Mr Douglas James McPherson

Major General Ken Joseph Taylor

Mr Allan Henry Taylor

Mr Norman Tattershall Wells

Friday, 10 November 2000—Canberra

Department of Defence

Mr Ross Kenneth Bain, Acting Head, Defence Estate

Ms Elizabeth June Clark, Acting Assistant Secretary, Property Management

Mr Rodney William Corey, Acting Deputy Secretary, Corporate Services

Mr Roger Vernon Lee, Head, Army History Unit

Mr Brian Thomas Manns, Deputy Head, Army History Unit

Brigadier George Yacoub, Director, General Preparedness and Plans, Army

Australian Heritage Commission

Dr Ken James Heffernan, Assistant Director, Historic Environment Advice Section

Mr Bruce Herbert, Executive Director, Australian Heritage Review

Western Australia Army Museum Foundation

Mr Paul Bridges, Deputy Curator