

## THE SENATE

## SELECT COMMITTEE ON ELECTRICITY PRICES

## **Public hearing**

Tuesday, 25 September 2012

## The Harbour Room, The Portside Centre, 207 Kent Street, SYDNEY

Time	Witness
9.10 am	Commonwealth Government (Submission 61) Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism Mr Brendan Morling, Head, Energy Division Mr Geoff Whelan, Manager, Retail Policy Team, Energy Division Mr David de Jongh, Assistant Manager, Retail Policy Team, Energy Division Mr Alan Hopkins, Assistant Manager, Demand Side Policy Team, Energy Division Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency Mr Brad Archer, First Assistant Secretary, Energy Markets and Policy Coordination Division Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs Ms Andrea Wallace-Green, Section Manager, Climate Change Household Assistance Section, Seniors and Means Test Branch (via teleconference)
10.10 am	Morning tea
10.20 am	Australian Energy Market Commission (Submission 28) Mr John Pierce, Chairman Dr Brian Spalding, Commissioner Mr Paul Smith, Acting Chief Executive
11.00 am	Energy Retailers Association of Australia (Submission 29) Mr Cameron O'Reilly, Chief Executive Officer
11.40 am	Panel: Dr Ian MacGill, Centre for Energy and Environmental Markets, UNSW (No Submission) Institute for Sustainable Futures (No Submission) Professor Stuart White, Director
12.20 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Grid Australia (Submission 51) Mr Peter McIntyre, Chairman
2.10 pm	Australian Industry Group (No Submission) Dr Peter Burn, Director, Public Policy Mr Tennant Reed, Principal National Adviser, Public Policy
3.10 pm	Afternoon tea

3.20 pm	Total Environment Centre (Submission 72) Mr Jeff Angel, Executive Director Dr Mark Byrne, Energy Market Advocate
4.00 pm	Panel: Choice (Submission 73) Mr Matt Levey, Head of Campaigns Ms Katrina Lee, Strategic Policy Advisor Public Interest Advocacy Centre (Submission 60) Ms Carolyn Hodge, Senior Policy Officer, Energy and Water Consumers' Advocacy Program Mr Oliver Derum, Policy Officer, Energy and Water Consumers' Advocacy Program
5.00 pm	Adjournment