

THE SENATE

SELECT COMMITTEE ON ELECTRICITY PRICES

Public hearing

Tuesday, 9 October 2012

Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House CANBERRA

| Time | Witness |
|----------|--|
| 11.50 am | Professor Ross Garnaut (via teleconference) (No submission) |
| 12.30 pm | Lunch |
| 1.20 pm | REC Agents Association (Submission 70) Mr Ric Brazzale, President Ms Fiona O'Hehir, Vice-President |
| 2.00 pm | Break |
| 3.10 pm | Low Carbon Australia (Submission 83) Mrs Margaret McDonald, Chief Executive Officer |
| 3.50 pm | Energy Networks Association (Submission 64) Mr Malcolm Roberts, Chief Executive Mr Garth Crawford, Principal Adviser, Regulation |
| 4.30 pm | Australian Council of Social Service (Submission 67) Dr Cassandra Goldie, Chief Executive Officer Ms Andrea Pape, Senior Policy Officer Energy and Climate Change Mr Andrew Nance, Adviser |
| 5.10 pm | National Generators Forum (No submission)Mr Trevor St Baker, ChairMr Tim Reardon, Executive Director |
| 5.50 pm | Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO) (<i>Submission 82</i>) Dr Alex Wonhas, Director, CSIRO Energy Transformed Flagship Dr Glenn Platt, Research Scientist, CSIRO Energy Technology |
| 6.30 pm | Dinner |
| 7.10 pm | Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Submission 58) Mr Greg Evans, Director of Economics |

PO Box 6100, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: (02) 6277 3525 Fax: (02) 6277 5818 Email: <u>electricityprices.sen@aph.gov.au</u> Internet:

| 7.50 pm | Panel:Unions NSW (Submission 62)Mr Mark Lennon, SecretaryUnited Voice (Submission 77)Ms Louise Tarrant, National SecretaryMs Holly Creenaune, CampaignerCEPU (Submission 84)Mr Peter Tighe, National SecretaryETU NSW (No submission)Mr Steve Butler, Secretary |
|---------|---|
| 8.30 pm | Commonwealth Government (Submission 61)Department of Resources, Energy and TourismMr Brendan Morling, Head, Energy DivisionDr Chris Locke, General Manager, Electricity and Gas Markets BranchMr Geoff Whelan, Manager, Retail Policy TeamMr Oliver Story, Manager, Demand Side Policy TeamMr David de Jongh, Assistant Manager, Retail Policy TeamDepartment of Climate Change and Energy EfficiencyMr Andrew Bailey, First Assistant Secretary, Energy Efficiency DivisionMr Brad Archer, First Assistant Secretary, Energy Efficiency BranchDepartment of Family, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous AffairsMs Alana Foster, Branch Manager, Seniors and Means Test Branch |
| 9.30 pm | Adjournment |