Appendix 2

Hearings and witnesses

Melbourne, Tuesday, 26 April 2005

Student Financial Advisers Network

Mr Roger Deutscher, *Chair* Mr Vincent, Callaghan, *Spokesperson on Student Finances*

Centre for Population and Urban Research, Monash University

Dr Robert Birrell, *Director*Dr Ian Dobson, *Honorary Research Fellow*

National Union of Students

Mr Felix Eldridge, *President*Mr Graham Hastings, *Research Coordinator*Ms Katana Smith, *National Welfare, Small and/or Regional Officer*

Australasian Campus Union Managers Association

Mr Trevor White, *President*Ms Megan Jenner, *Board Member*

Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations

Mr Stephen Horton, *President*Ms Sally Skinner, *Research Officer*

University of Melbourne Postgraduate Association

Mr Matthew Belleghem, President

National Indigenous Postgraduate Association Aboriginal Corporation

Ms Vicki-Ann Speechley-Golden, *President* Ms Meryan Tozer, *Research Officer*

National Tertiary Education Union

Mr Joel Wright, *Indigenous Officer*, *National Office* Ms Emma Cull, *National Policy and Research Officer* Mr Paul Kniest, *Policy and Research Officer*

RMIT Student Union

Mr Mark Pendleton, Research and Information Officer Mr Jack Manning, Welfare and Education Officer Mr Stuart Martin, Officer

Deakin University Student Association

Mr Philip Hunt, *General Manager*Miss Monica Okulicz, *Vice-President Undergraduate*Ms Louise Moran, *Representative Support Officer*

Professor Robert Watts

Adelaide, Thursday, 28 April 2005

Flinders University

Professor Anne Edwards, Vice-Chancellor

Students Association of Flinders University

Ms Jacqui Forte, *General Secretary* Mr James Frazer, *Education Research Officer*

University of South Australia Students Association

Mr Justin Lee, *President* Mr Mark Allen, *Equity and Welfare Vice-President*

Students Association of the University of Adelaide

Mr David Pearson, *President*Ms Naomi Vaughan, *Project Research Officer*

University of South Australia

Professor Rigmor George, *Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President, Access and Learning Support*

Flinders Postgraduate Students Association

Mr Nigel Palmer, President

National Centre for Vocational Education Research

Dr Tom Karmel, Managing Director

University of Adelaide

Professor Charles Bodman Rae, *Dean, Elder School of Music*Ms Susan MacIntosh, *Executive Director, Student and Staff Services*Mr Michael Physick, *Project Manager, Student and Staff Services*

Canberra, Friday, 13 May 2005

Australian Vice-Chancellors' Committee

Mr Thomas Mullarvey, Chief Executive Officer

Professor Roger Dean, Vice-Chancellor and President, University of Canberra, and Member

Australian National University Students Association

Ms Aparna Rao, President

Mr Max Jeganathan, Former President (2004)

Ms Rachel Allen, Treasurer

National Welfare Rights Network

Ms Jillian Chapman, Welfare Rights Advocate, Illawarra Legal Centre Ms Melissa Coad, Education Officer and Caseworker

Tenants Union of Victoria

Mr David Imber, *Policy and Liaison Worker* Mr Mark O'Brien, *Chief Executive Officer*

Department of Family and Community Services

Ms Meredith Baker, Section Manager, Means Test Policy Section, Seniors and Means Test Branch

Ms Liza Carroll, Branch Manager, Housing Support

Mr David Hazlehurst, Branch Manager, Family Payments

Mr Benjamin Wallace, Acting Branch Manager, Seniors and Means Test Branch

Department of Education, Science and Training

Ms Susan Bennett, Acting Branch Manager, Income Support for Students Branch Ms Jessie Borthwick, Group Manager, Strategic Analysis and Evaluation Group

Centrelink

Mrs Michelle Cornish, National Manager

Ms Carolyn Hogg, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Stakeholder Relationships