Appendix 2

Hearings and witnesses

State Parliamentary Offices, Melbourne, 31 August 2007

Universities Australia and Group of Eight

Professor Richard Larkins

Incoming Chairman, Universities Australia

Vice-Chancellor and President, Monash University

Mercer Investment Consulting

Mr Bruce Gregor, *Principal*

Federation of Australian Scientific and Technological Societies

Mr Bradley Smith, Executive Director

Department of Finance and Administration

Mr Alan Greenslade, Branch Manager, Future Fund Branch, Financial Management Group

Department of Education, Science and Training

Dr Evan Arthur, Group Manager, Innovation & Research Systems

National Tertiary Education Union

Dr Carolyn Allport, National President

Mr Andrew Nette, Policy & Research Coordinator