# **Appendix 2**

## **Hearings and Witnesses**

## Tuesday, 21 March 2006, Mildura

**Victorian Farmers Federation** Mr James Belbin, *Vice President, Sunraysia Branch* 

#### **Sunraysia Citrus Growers Inc** Mr Peter Crisp, Chair

Australian Citrus Growers Inc Ms Judity Damiani, *Executive Director* 

#### Mr Chris de Groot

**Sunraysia Mallee Economic Development Board** Mr John Irwin, *Chairman* 

Almond Board of Australia Mr Stephen Lynch, Director and Head of Agribusiness, SAITeysMcMahon

#### National Harvest Labour Information Service, MADEC

Ms Mary Maoloney, *Coordinator (Tasmania, South Australia and Northern Territory)* Mr Maxwell Polwarth, *Manager* Mr Cosimo Stizza, *Harvest Labour Coordinator* 

#### Sunraysia Mallee Economic Development Board

Mr Andrew Millen, Chief Executive Officer

**Mildura Rural City Council** Mr Phil Pearce, *Chief Executive Officer* 

## Wednesday, 22 March 2006, Renmark

**Riverland Development Corporation** Mr Trevor Bennett, *Project Officer, Skilled and Business Migration* 

#### Yandilla Park Pty Ltd

Mr Richard Hamley, *General Manager, Agribusiness* Ms Claire Smith, *Human Resources Manager* 

## **Riverland Horticultural Council**

Mr Tom Martin, Acting Chairman

Simarloo (Australia) Pty Ltd, and Virgin Hills Pty Ltd Mr Noel Sims, *Managing Director* 

## Thursday, 23 March 2006, Robinvale

**Tree Minders Pty Ltd** Mr Alf Fangaloka, *Director* Mr Sam Fangaloka, *General Manager* Mr Sioeli Fangaloka, *Director* 

#### Pickering Transport Group

Mrs Lilian Fifita, Quality Manager, Occupational Health and Safety Convenor

Mr Tony Gaby

**Robinvale Uniting Church** Reverend Evan Harris,

**Robinvale NetworkHouse Incorporated** Mrs Carolyn Martinussen, *Coordinator* 

#### **Swan Hill Rural City Council**

Ms Deborah Quin, Employment and Settlement Facilitation Officer

## **Murray Valley Aboriginal Co-op**

Mrs Valma Tucker, Committee Member and Coordinator, Family Services, Murray Valley Aboriginal Co-op

Select Harvests Ltd

Mr Wayne Turner, General Manager, Almond Division

## Friday, 24 March 2006, Shepparton

**Goulburn Valley Pacific Islander Community Association Inc** Ms Leiona Cocker, *Vice President* Mrs Moira Fepuleai, *President and Representative, Ethnic Council of Shepparton and District* Mrs Leaisa Pele, *Treasurer* 

#### **Fruit Growers Victoria**

Mr Peter Hall, *Representative* Mr Ross Wall, *Chief Executive Officer* 

66

#### **Greater Shepparton City Council**

Mr Christopher Hazelman, Councillor and Manager, Ethnic Council of Shepparton and District Mr Matthew Nelson, Manager, Economic Development

#### Worktrainers Ltd

Mr James O'Connor, Chief Executive Officer

#### **Austravel Jobs**

Mr Anthony Peardon, Managing Director

## Northern Victorian Fresh Tomato Growers Association

Mr Anthony Rossignuolo, President

#### Wednesday, 19 April 2006, Brisbane

**Associate Professor Richard Brown** 

**Burnett Shire Council** Mr Raymond Duffy, *Mayor* 

#### Australia Fiji Business Council

Mr Robert Lyon, President; Immideate Past President, Australia Pacific Island Business Council; Vice President, Australia Papua New Guinea Business Council

#### Growcom

Mr Mark Panitz, Chief Advocate

#### Australia Papua New Guniea Business Council

Mr Francis Yourn, Executive Director, Australia Fiji Business Council, Australia Pacific Island Business Council

#### Thursday, 20 April 2006, Bundaberg

**SP Exports Pty Ltd** Mr Andrew Philip, *Shareholder* 

**2PH Farms** Mr John Pressler, *Director* 

**Wide Bay-Burnett Area Consultative Committee** Mr William Trevor, *Chair* 

#### **Bundaberg City Council**

Councillor Mary Walsh, Chairman, Planning and Development Committee

## Monday, 5 June 2006, Darwin

## **Oolloo Farm Management Pty Ltd**

Mr Philip Vivian, General Manager, Farming Operations

## Northern Territory Horticultural Association

Ms Tracey Leo, Principal Officer

## Northern Territory Mango Industry Association

Mr Peter Marks, *President* Mr Bill Davey, *Grower Representative and Director* Mr Peter Delis, *Past President* 

## **Northern Land Council**

Mr Leigh Tilmouth, *Consultant, Economic Development* Mr John Berto, *Deputy Chief Executive Officer* Mr Barry King, *Manager, Jobs and Careers* 

## **Unions Northern Territory**

Mr Joseph Gallagher, *President* Mr Didge McDonald, *Occupational Health and Safety Project Officer* Mr Jeff Hull, *Secretary* Mr Jamey Robertson, *Assistant Secretary* 

## Tuesday, 22 August 2006, Canberra

## **Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs**

Mr James Fox, First Assistant Secretary, Migration and Temporary Entry Division Mr Malcolm Paterson, Director, Business Skills and Specialist Entry Section Mr Jon Rosalky, Director, Compliance Business Systems Section

## **Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade/AusAID**

Mr Peter Hooton, Assistant Secretary Pacific Regional and New Zealand Branch, Pacific Division Ms Judith Robinson, Assistant Director-General, Pacific Branch, AusAID Mr Edward Sulikowski, Director, Services Trade Negotiations Section, Office of Trade Negotiations

## **National Farmers' Federation**

Mrs Denita Wawn, Manager, Workplace Relations, and Industrial Advocate Mr Duncan Fraser, Chair, Workplace Relations Committee

**High Commissioner for Fiji** His Excellency Mr Amraiya Naidu, *High Commissioner* 

## **Department of Employment and Workplace Relations**

Mr Ivan Neville, Assistant Secretary, Labour Supply and Skills Branch

68

Ms Jane Press, Director, Migration Policy and Analysis Section, Labour Supply and Skills Branch Mr Michael Quinn, Assistant Secretary, Employment Exchange Branch

Dr Satish Chand, Crawford School of Economics and Government, ANU

**Mr Peter Mares**, Senior Research Fellow, Institute for Social Research, Swinburne University of Technology

Mr Nicholas Maclellan, Senior Policy Adviser for the Pacific, Oxfam Australia

## **Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries**

Mr Allen Grant, Executive Manager, Corporate Policy Division Dr Terence Sheales, Chief Commodity Analyst, Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics Mr Matthew Worrell, Manager, Corporate Policy and Planning Mr Peter Hancock, Manager, Horticulture Policy

## Wednesday, 23 August 2006 Canberra

## **Australian Tourism Export Council**

Ms Anna Rattray, National Industry Development Manager

## ACTU

Ms Michelle Bissett, Industrial Officer

## Horticulture Australia Limited

Ms Kris Newton, Chief Executive Officer, Horticulture Australia Council Mr Mark Reppel, Director, Australia Banana Growers' Association Mr Nick Muraca, President, Australian Table Grape Growers Association

## The World Bank

Dr Manjula Luthria, Senior Economist for the Pacific Region