

Senate Economics Legislation Committee

Chair Senator Annette Hurley

Deputy Chair Senator Alan Eggleston

Members Senator David Cameron Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Louise Pratt Senator Nick Xenophon

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Committee Secretary Senate Economics Legislation Committee PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel:02 6277 3540Fax:02 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_economics/

Inquiry into the Trade Practices Amendment (Australian Consumer Law) Bill 2009

Date	Wednesday 26 August 2009
Start	8.30 am
Venue	Cliftons, Level 6, 190 George Street, Sydney

8.30am–9.15am	Insurance Council of Australia (sub 43)
	Ms Kerrie Kelly, Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer
9.15am–10.00am	Australian Institute of Company Directors (sub 25) Mr John Colvin, Chief Executive Officer Ms Leah Watterson, Senior Policy Advisor
10.00am–10.45am	Shopping Centre Council of Australia (sub 9) Mr Milton Cockburn, Executive Director Mr Tim Walsh, Legal Council, Westfield
10.45am-10.50am	Short break
10.50am–11.30am	Associate Professor Frank Zumbo (sub 12) School of Business Law and Taxation, University of New South Wales
11.30am–12.15pm	Australian Bankers' Association (sub 32) Mr David Bell, Chief Executive Officer Mr Ian Gilbert, Director, Retail Policy
12.15pm–1.00pm	Insurance Law Service, Consumer Credit Legal Centre (NSW) (sub 36) Ms Katherine Lane, Principal Solicitor Ms Karen Cox, Coordinator
1.00pm-2.00pm	Lunch
2.00pm-2.45pm	Investment and Financial Services Association (sub 39) Mr David O'Reilly, Director, Policy and Regulations, IFSA Mr Richard Batten, Partner, Minter Ellison
2.45pm-3.30pm	Consumer Action Law Centre (sub 19) Ms Catriona Lowe, Executive Director Ms Nicole Rich, Director, Policy and Campaigns

National Consumer Credit Protection Bill 2009

3.35pm-5.00pm Roundtable

 Consumer Action Law Centre
 Consumer Credit Legal Centre

 National Legal Aid
 Brotherhood of St Laurence (via teleconference)