

Senate Economics References Committee

Chair

Senator Alan Eggleston

Deputy Chair

Senator Annette Hurley

Members

Senator David Bushby Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Louise Pratt Senator Nick Xenophon

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Committee Secretary Senate Economics References Committee PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3540 **Fax:** 02 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_economics/

Inquiry into aspects of bank mergers

Date Monday 10 August 2009

Start 9.00am

Venue 2S3, Parliament House, Canberra

0.00 0.45	
9.00am-9:45am	Choice (Submission 6)
	Ms Elissa Freeman, Senior Policy Officer
9.45am-10.30am	Abacus (Australian Mutuals) (Submission 18)
	Mr Mark Degotardi, Head of Public Affairs
	Mr Luke Lawler, Senior Advisor
10.30am–10.45am	Morning tea
10.45am-11.30am	Westpac (Submission 11)
	Mr Brad Cooper, Group Chief Transformation Officer Mr Andrew Buttsworth, Head of Government and Industry Affairs
11.30am-12.15pm	Brotherhood of St Laurence (Submission 8)
11.30am-12.15pm	Brotherhood of St Laurence (Submission 8) Gerard Brody, Senior Manager, Financial Inclusion
11.30am–12.15pm 12.15pm–1.15pm	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
-	Gerard Brody, Senior Manager, Financial Inclusion
12.15pm–1.15pm	Gerard Brody, Senior Manager, Financial Inclusion Lunch
12.15pm–1.15pm	Gerard Brody, Senior Manager, Financial Inclusion Lunch Law Council of Australia (Submission 15)
12.15pm–1.15pm 1.15pm–2.00pm	Gerard Brody, Senior Manager, Financial Inclusion Lunch Law Council of Australia (Submission 15) Mr Dave Poddar, Partner, Mallesons Stephen Jaques Suncorp

Inquiry into foreign investment by state-owned entities

3.30pm-4.00pm	Associate Professor Frank Zumbo University of New South Wales (Submission 38)
4.00pm-4.45pm	Lowy Institute for International Policy (Submission 56) Dr Malcolm Cook Mr Mark Thirlwell Via Teleconference
4.45pm–5.30 pm	Future Fund Mr David Murray AO Chair, Future Fund Board of Guardians
5.30pm-5.40pm	Short Break (if required)
5.40pm-6.20pm	Mr Ian Melrose (Submission 8)
6.20pm-7.00pm	Concept Economics (Submission 6) Dr Brian Fisher
7.00pm	Adjournment