

Senate Standing Committee on Economics

Chair

Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson

Deputy Chair

Senator Ursula Stephens

Members

Senator Cory Bernardi Senator Grant Chapman Senator Annette Hurley Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Andrew Murray Senator Ruth Webber

Substitute Member

Senator Lyn Allison to replace Senator Murray for the inquiry into the provisions of the Liquid Fuel Emergency Amendment Bill 2007

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Committee Secretary Senate Standing Committee on **Economics** PO Box 6100

Parliament House

CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_economics

INQUIRIES INTO

- 1. Provisions of the Tax Laws Amendment (2007 Measures No. 2) Bill 2007
- Provisions of the Corporations (NZ Closer Economic Relations) and Other **Legislation Amendment Bill 2007**
- 3. Provisions of the Liquid Fuel Emergency Amendment Bill 2007

Date Monday 23 April 2007 Start 10.00am

Australian Institute of Management, Membership Rooms A and B Venue

Address 181 Fitzroy Street, St Kilda, MELBOURNE

Tax Laws Amendment (2007 Measures No. 2) Bill 2007

10.00am - 10.40am Schedule 1—

Effective life provisions of mining rights

The Treasury via Teleconference

Mr Matthew Flavel, Manager, Industry Tax Policy Unit Ms Susan Franks, Senior Adviser, Industry Tax Policy Unit Mr Adam Hawkins, Analyst, Industry Tax Policy Unit Mr Raylee O'Neill, Senior Adviser, Industry Tax Policy Unit

Minerals Council of Australia via Teleconference

(Submission 4)

Mr David Rynne, Assistant Director, Economics Mr Anthony Portus, Director of Taxation, Anglo Coal

Treasury to respond if required

10.40am - 11.20am

Expenditure on research and development activities

The Treasury via Teleconference

Mr Matthew Flavel, Manager, Industry Tax Policy Unit Ms Susan Franks, Senior Adviser, Industry Tax Policy Unit Mr Adam Hawkins, Analyst, Industry Tax Policy Unit Mr Raylee O'Neill, Senior Adviser, Industry Tax Policy Unit

PricewaterhouseCoopers (Submission 1)

Ms Sandra Mason, Partner, Tax and Legal Services

Treasury to respond if required

11.20am - 11.30am Morning tea

11.30am - 12.10pm Schedule 2—Taxation of boating activities

The Treasury via Teleconference

Mr Greg Pinder, Senior Adviser, Integrated Tax Design Unit Mr Nick Miller, Analyst, Integrated Tax Design Unit

Ernst & Young via Teleconference (Submission 6)

Mr Craig Jackson, Partner

Treasury to respond if required

Corporations (NZ Closer Economic Relations) and Other Legislation Amendment Bill 2007

12.15pm - 1.00pmThe Treasury via Teleconference

Mr Matthew Bowd, Analyst, Competition Policy Framework Unit

Competition and Consumer Policy Division

Ms Marian Kljakovic, Manager, Market Integrity Unit

Corporations and Financial Services Division

Ms Cherie Parker, Senior Analyst, Market Integrity Unit

Corporations and Financial Services Division

Mr Scott Rogers, Analyst, Competition Policy Framework Unit

Competition and Consumer Policy Division

1.00pm - 2.00pmLunch



Senate Standing Committee on Economics

Chair

Senator the Hon Michael Ronaldson

Deputy Chair

Senator Ursula Stephens

Members

Senator Cory Bernardi Senator Grant Chapman Senator Annette Hurley Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Andrew Murray Senator Ruth Webber

Substitute Member

Senator Lyn Allison to replace Senator Murray for the inquiry into the provisions of the Liquid Fuel Emergency Amendment Bill 2007

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Committee Secretary Senate Standing Committee on Economics PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3540 **Fax:** 02 6277 5719

Email: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet:

 $http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_economics$

Liquid Fuel Emergency Amendment Bill 2007

2.00pm – 3.00pm **Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources**

Mr Rhys Hunt, Policy Officer

Alternative Fuels & Fuel Supply Section

Mr Rhys Piper, Acting Manager

Alternative Fuels & Fuel Supply Section Ms Marie Taylor, General Manager

Fuels & Uranium Branch

Australian Institute of Petroleum (Submission TBA)

Dr John Tilley, Executive Director

Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources to respond if

required

Please note that this program may be subject to alteration and is published as a guide only