Inquiry into the provisions of the Fuel Tax Bill 2006 and a related bill

On 11 May 2006, the Senate referred the provisions of the Fuel Tax Bill 2006 and the Fuel Tax (Consequential and Transitional Provisions) Bill 2006 to the Economics Legislation Committee for inquiry and report by 7 June 2006.

The bills provide a single system of fuel tax credits to remove or reduce the incidence of fuel tax levied on taxable fuels and a framework for the taxation of gaseous fuels from 1 July 2011, when fuel tax is levied on liquefied petroleum gas, liquefied natural gas and compressed natural gas for the first time.

The bills will replace the current system of fuel tax concessions with a single fuel tax credit system from 1 July 2006. In the future the fuel tax will only be effectively applied to:

- fuel used in private vehicles and for certain other private purposes; and
- fuel used on-road in light vehicles for business purposes.

All taxable fuel acquired or manufactured in, or imported into, Australia for use in off-road applications for business purposes will become tax-free over time.

Written submissions are invited and should be sent to:

The Secretary, Senate Economics Legislation Committee, Suite SG.64, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600.

The closing date for submissions is 24 May 2006.

The Committee requests that where possible, submissions should also be provided by email to *economics.sen@aph.gov.au*, preferably as MS Word 97 or RTF format documents. Notes to assist in preparing submissions are available from the website http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/wit_sub/index.htm or the Secretariat telephone 02 6277 3540, fax: 02 6277 5719, or e-mail at the above address.

Once the Committee accepts your submission, it becomes a confidential committee document and is protected by Parliamentary Privilege. You must **not** release your submission without the Committee's permission. If you do, it is not protected by Parliamentary Privilege. At some stage during the inquiry, the Committee normally makes submissions public. Please indicate if you want your submission to be kept confidential.

Inquiries from hearing and speech impaired people should be directed to the Parliament House TTY number (02 6277 7799). Adobe also provides tools for the blind and visually impaired to access PDF documents. These tools are available at: http://access.adobe.com/. If you require any special arrangements in order to enable you to participate in a committee inquiry, please contact the committee secretary.

If you need any further information, contact the Committee's Secretary,

Mr Peter Hallahan, on (02) 6277 3540 (phone), (02) 6277 5719 (fax), by email to economics.sen@aph.gov.au or by writing to:

Committee Secretary
Senate Economics Committee
Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600