The Senate

# **Economics Legislation Committee**

Provisions of the Financial Sector Legislation Amendment Bill (No. 2) 2002

© Commonwealth of Australia 2002		
ISSN 1324-2830		
Printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.		

### **Senate Economics Legislation Committee**

#### **Core Members**

Senator George Brandis, Chairman

Senator Jacinta Collins, Deputy Chair

Senator Grant Chapman

Senator Andrew Murray

Senator John Watson

Senator Ruth Webber

(Queensland, LP)

(Victoria, ALP)

(South Australia, LP)

(Western Australia, AD)

(Tasmania, LP)

#### **Substitute Members**

Senator Allison replaces Senator Murray for matters relating to the Resources portfolio.

### **Participating Members**

Senator John Tierney

Participating Members	
Senator the Hon Eric Abetz	(Tasmania, LP)
Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell	(Queensland, NPA)
Senator Geoffrey Buckland	(South Australia, ALP)
Senator George Campbell	(New South Wales, ALP)
Senator Kim Carr	(Victoria, ALP)
Senator John Cherry	(Queensland AD)
Senator Stephen Conroy	(Victoria, ALP)
Senator the Hon Peter Cook	(Western Australia, ALP)
Senator the Hon Helen Coonan	(New South Wales, LP)
Senator Alan Eggleston	(Western Australia, LP)
Senator Christopher Evans	(Western Australia, ALP)
Senator the Hon John Faulkner	(New South Wales, ALP)
Senator Alan Ferguson	(South Australia, LP)
Senator Jeannie Ferris	(South Australia, LP)
Senator Michael Forshaw	(New South Wales, ALP)
Senator Brian Harradine	(Tasmania, Ind)
Senator Leonard Harris	(Queensland, PHON)
Senator Linda Kirk	(South Australia, ALP)
Senator Susan Knowles	(Western Australia, LP)
Senator Meg Lees	(South Australia, Ind)
Senator Ross Lightfoot	(Western Australia, LP)
Senator Joseph Ludwig	(Queensland, ALP)
Senator Kate Lundy	(Australian Capital Territory, ALP)
Senator Brett Mason	(Queensland, LP)
Senator Julian McGauran	(Victoria, NPA)
Senator Shayne Murphy	(Tasmania, Ind)
Senator Marise Payne	(New South Wales, LP)
Senator Aden Ridgeway	(New South Wales, AD)
Senator the Hon Nick Sherry	(Tasmania, ALP)
Senator Natasha Stott Despoja	(South Australia, AD)
Senator Tsebin Tchen	(Victoria, LP)

(New South Wales, LP)

#### Secretariat

Kathleen Dermody (Dr), Secretary Angela Lancsar, Executive Assistant

Suite SG.64 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Ph: 02 6277 3540 Fax: 02 6277 5719

E-mail: economics.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics">http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics</a> <a href="http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/economics">ctte/index.htm</a>

## **Contents**

Membership of the Committee Abbreviations and Acronyms	
CHAPTER 1	
Inquiry into the Provisions of the Financial Sector Legislation Amendment Bill (No. 2) 2002	1
Background	1
Purpose of the Bill	1
Reference of the Bill	1
Submissions	2
Hearing and evidence	2
Acknowledgment	2
CHAPTER 2	
Background to the fit and proper test	3
Introduction	3
Background—The Basel Committee on Banking Supervision	3
Effective banking supervision—Principle 3	4
Fit and proper test	4
Toward a fit and proper test for Australian ADIs	5
Option 1—Maintain status quo	6
Option 2—A fit and proper regime	6
Option 3—Self-assessment supplemented by legislative power to disqualify unfit persons	7
CHAPTER 3	
Provisions of the Bill	9
Disqualified persons must not act for ADIs or authorised NOHCs	10
Who is a disqualified person?	10
Definition of senior management	11
APRA may disqualify a person	12
Prudential Standard	13
Removal of a disqualified person and appeal process	16
Notification of appointments	17

Transition Period	18
Duplication of the supervision function	18
Reporting breaches of prudential standards	19
Conclusion	21
MINORITY REPORT	23
APPENDIX 1	
List of Public Submissions and Additional Information	25
APPENDIX 2	
Public Hearing and Witnesses	27
APPENDIX 3	
Extract from Prudential Standards and Guidance Notes Applied to General Insurers	29
APPENDIX 4	
Draft Prudential Standards and Guidance Note: Authorised Deposit-Taking Institutions	35
APPENDIX 5	
APRA—Supplementary Submission 4A	39