Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Broadcasting Services Amendment (Digital Television and Datacasting) Bill 2000

Report of the Senate Environment, Communications, Information Technology and the Arts Legislation Committee

June 2000

© Commonwealth of Australia 2000

ISSN 1441-9920

This document is produced from camera-ready copy prepared by the Senate Environment, Communications, Information Technology and the Arts Legislation Committee Secretariat, and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE COMMITTEE - 39TH PARLIAMENT

Members:Senator Alan Eggleston, Chair (LP, WA) Senator Mark Bishop, Deputy Chair (AL Senator Andrew Bartlett (AD, QLD) Senator the Hon Nick Bolkus (ALP, SA) Senator Paul H. Calvert (LP, TAS) Senator Tsebin Tchen (LP, VIC)	P, WA)
Participating Members:Senator the Hon Eric Abetz (LP, TAS) Senator Andrew Bartlett (AD, QLD) Senator the Hon Eric Abetz (LP, TAS) Senator Lyn Allison (AD, VIC) appoint issues as at 30/09/99. Senator Ron Boswell (NP, QLD) Senator Ron Boswell (NP, QLD) Senator Vicki Bourne (AD, NSW) Senator Bob Brown (AG, TAS) Senator George Campbell (ALP, NSW) Senator George Campbell (ALP, NSW) Senator Hellen Coonan (LP, NA) Senator The Hon John Faulkner (ALP, NSV) Senator Jeannie Ferris (LP, SA) Senator The Hon Brian F. Gibson, AM (LI Senator Steve Hutchins (ALP, NSW) to for the committee's inquiries into th Broadcasting Services Amendment (digi Bill 2000 as at 11 May 2000 Senator Meg Lees (AD, SA) Senator Ross Lightfoot (LP, WA) Senator Senator Ross Lightfoot (LP, WA) Senator Julian J.J. McGauran (NPA, VIC) Senator Julian J.J. McGauran (NPA, VIC) Senator Aden D.Ridgeway (AD, NSW) a as at 30/09/99 Senator John O. W. Watson	VSW) A) W) P, TAS) replace Senator Bolkus ne Provisions of the tal TV & Datacasting

Committee Secretariat

Ms Roxane Le Guen, Secretary Ms Stephanie Holden, Senior Research Officer Ms Rhonda Thorpe on secondment from the Dept of Communications IT & the Arts Ms Angela Mututu, Executive Assistant

Environment, Communications, Information Technology and the Arts Legislation Committee S1.57, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3526 Fax: 02 6277 5818

Email: erca.sen@aph.gov.au