

THE AUSTRALIAN NUCLEAR FREE ALLIANCE



Formed in 1997, the Australian Nuclear Free Alliance (formerly the Alliance Against Uranium) brings together Aboriginal people and relevant NGO's concerned about existing or proposed nuclear developments in Australia, particularly on Aboriginal homelands.

The Alliance provides a forum for sharing of knowledge, skills and experience. It is an opportunity to come together and find strength through our shared aims to protect country and culture from nuclear developments. The Alliance helped to build the successful campaign to stop the Jabiluka uranium mine in the Northern Territory, and more recently, a proposed national nuclear waste dump in South Australia. Currently, Aboriginal communities face a wave of uranium exploration, several proposed new uranium mines, and a proposed national nuclear waste dump.

Alliance Structure and Contacts

The Alliance has a Committee with two co-chairs. A majority of the Committee members are Aboriginal people. Committee members are elected at the annual Alliance meeting. Kevin Buzzacott, an Arabunna elder from South Australia, is the honorary President of the Alliance.

The Alliance also has a number of working groups which report to the Committee, they are: fundraising; media; international outreach and solidarity; speaking tour; 2009 meeting organising group; newsletter; water; education; website.

Alliance Committee 2008-09

- Donna Jackson (Larrakia Nation) co-chair 61 (0)427 847186, <donna@teaca.org>
- Rebecca Bear-Wingfield (Kokatha) co-Chair 61 (0)411 518510,
 <bear.rebecca25@gmail.com>
- Jillian Marsh (Adnyamathanha)
- Martha Watts (Kokatha)
- Peter Watts (Kokatha)
- Sue Coleman Haseldine (Kokatha Mula)
- Nat Wasley (Arid Lands Environment Centre)
- Dave Sweeney (Australian Conservation Foundation)
- Steve Holdsworth (Friends of the Earth)

Administration:

Friends of the Earth (FoE) Melbourne administers funding for the Alliance.

More information

More information about the Alliance is posted at: <www.foe.org.au/antinuclear/issues/oz/alliance> or contact one of the co-chairs or committee members in your state or territory.



THE AUSTRALIAN NUCLEAR FREE ALLIANCE



Comments on the Bill before the Australian Senate to repeal the CRWMA

29th October 2008

Dear Senators,

Please see attached one page statement regarding the history, purpose and committee membership of the Australian Nuclear Free Alliance (hereto referred to as ANFA).

ANFA is fully supportive of the current Bill put to the Senate by WA Greens Senator Scott Ludlum, seeking the immediate repeal of the Commonwealth Radioactive Waste Management Act (CRWMA). Repealing this hastily created 'Howard government' act, was an election promise of the Australian Labor Party. The CRWMA is an undemocratic law that removes Aboriginal peoples rights over what happens on their country.

The promise to repeal the act was also stated, by ALP ministers and representatives, directly to a delegate of senior Aboriginal women from the NT, when we visited Parliament House in Canberra in July 2007. There we met with then opposition cabinet members from ALP, as well as Greens and Democrats regarding this draconian legislation.

We applaud the tabling of this Bill by the WA Greens Senator Scott Ludlum, and appreciate the ongoing support of the Greens Party on this contentious issue. We urge all Senators to support the current Bill to immediately repeal the CRWMA, to give some reassurance and relief to traditional owners whose lands are still being targeted via this act, for a nuclear waste dump.

It is totally unacceptable to dump nuclear waste on Aboriginal land, potentially threatening the health of the environment, water and people, who are already disadvantaged. It is also inappropriate to accept a strongly contested dump site nomination from the Northern Land Council, under the existing CRWMA.

We trust that any future negotiations for a nuclear waste storage site in Australia, will include open and transparent consultations with all stakeholders, thereby ensuring Government delegates have the opportunity to hear directly from all affected people.

Thank you for you consideration

Donna Jackson & Rebecca Wingfield

Co – Chairs: Australian Nuclear Free Alliance

c/o Top End Aboriginal Conservation Alliance Environment Hub, Shop 9 48 Trower Road, MILLNER, NT 0810

donna@teaca.org