WITNESSES AT HEARINGS

Wednesday, 17 February 1999

Mr Neil Fisher, Executive Director, Grains Council of Australia

Mr Warren Lang, Deputy Executive Director, National Association of Forest Industries

Mr Timothy Walshaw

Wednesday, 16 June 1999

Dr Elizabeth Boros, Law Institute of Victoria

Mr Thomas Bostock, Member, Companies and Business Committee, Law Institute of Victoria

Mr David Cantrick-Brooks, Manager, Computershare Registry Services

Mr John Fast, Partner, Arnold Block Leibler

Mr David Hardidge, Senior Manager, Ernst & Young

Mr Gerard Meade, Chairman, Legislation Review Board, Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants and The Institute of Chartered Accountants

Mr Richard Mifsud, Representative, Legislation Review Board, Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants and The Institute of Chartered Accountants

Mr Colin Parker, Director, Accounting and Audit, Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants; and Representative, The Institute of Chartered Accountants

Ms Ruth Picker, Partner, Ernst & Young

Mr Nick Renton

Ms Ellen Stoddart, Project Manager, Accounting, Australian Accounting Research Foundation

Mr John Wilkin, General Counsel, Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Monday, 16 August 1999

Mr Rick Crabb, Partner, Blakiston and Crabb Solicitors; and Associate Member, Association of Mining and Exploration Companies Inc

Mr Paul Evans, Partner, Freehill Hollingdale and Page

Mr Laurie Factor, Senior Lecturer, Corporate Law, School of Business Law, Curtin University; Representative, West Australia Joint Legislative Review Committee of the Australian Society of Certified Practising Accountants, The Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Chartered Institute of Company Secretaries; and Chairman, Chartered Institute of Company Secretaries, Western Australian Branch

Associate Professor Phil Hancock, Member, Legislation Committee, Accounting Association of Australia and New Zealand

Mr Peter Jooste, QC

Ms Rebecca Maslen-Stannage, Senior Associate, Freehill Hollingdale and Page

Mr Grahame Young, Member, Law Society of Western Australia

Tuesday, 17 August 1999

Mr James Beecher, Member, National Executive, Group of 100 Inc

Mr Sandy Easterbrook, Director, Corporate Governance International Pty Ltd

Mr Ian L Falconer, Chairman, Legislation Review Committee, Chartered Institute of Company Secretaries in Australia

Mr Mark Fogarty, Director, Environment and Energy, Australian Industry Group

Mr Boris Ganke, Chairman, Australian Listed Companies Association Inc

Mr Duncan Glasgow, General Counsel and Company Secretary, Intech Asset Consulting Pty Ltd, Chartered Institute of Company Secretaires in Australia

Mr Timothy Hammon, Chief Administrative Officer, Coles Myer Ltd

Mr Peter Hetherton, Committee Member, Australian Listed Companies Associated Inc

Mr Michael Irving, Manager, Company Secretariat, Coles Meyer Ltd

Mr Douglas Niven, Deputy Chief Accountant, Australian Securities and Investments Commission

Mr John Rennie, Chair, Public Company Secretaries Discussion Group, Chartered Institute of Company Secretaries in Australia

Mr David Robinson, Corporate and Legal Issues Committee Member, Chartered Institute of Company Secretaries in Australia

Ms Jillian Segal, Commissioner, Australian Securities and Investments Commission

Wednesday, 18 August 1999

Mr Reg Barrett

Mr Michael Carolin, Environment Adviser, Australian Business Chamber

Mr Ian Dunlop, Chief Executive Officer, Australian Institute of Company Directors

Dr Gordon Elkington, Member, Australian Shareholders' Association Ltd

Mr Rob Elliott, Manager, Research and Policy, Australian Institute of Company Directors

Mr Ronald Forster, Member, Corporations Law Committee, Australian Institute of Company Directors

Mr Tony Hulett, Member, Corporations Law Committee, Australian Institute of Company Directors

Mr Mark O'Brien, Investment Committee Member, Investment and Financial Services Association Ltd

Mr Paul Orton, Manager, Policy, Australian Business Chamber

Ms Lynn Ralph, Chief Executive Officer, Investment and Financial Services Association Ltd

Mr Shane Rattenbury, Political Liaison Officer, Greenpeace Australia

Ms Monica Richter, Corporate Campaigner, Greenpeace Australia

Mr Ted Rofe, Chairman, Australian Shareholders' Association Ltd

Mr Shann Turnbull, Principal, M.A.I. Services Pty Ltd

Wednesday, 1 September 1999

Mr Peter Carroll

Dr Michael Deeley, Chairman, North Ltd

Mr Ian L Falconer, Chairman, Legislation Review Committee, Chartered institute of Company Secretaries in Australia

Ms Erika Ford, Representative, North Ethical Shareholders

Ms Juliet Forsyth, Representative, North Ethical Shareholders

Mr John Poppins, Coordinator, BHP Shareholders for Social Responsibility; Committee Member, Amcor Green Shareholders

Mr John Rennie, Chairman, Public Company Secretaries Discussion Group, Chartered Institute of Company Secretaries in Australia