SENATE COMMUNITY AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM FRIDAY, 26 FEBRUARY 2010

Senate Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Inquiry into Social Security and Other Legislation Amendment (Welfare Reform and the Reinstatement of the Racial Discrimination Act) Bill 2009 and the

Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs and Other Legislation Amendment (2009 Measures) Bill 2009 along with the

Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs and Other Legislation Amendment (Restoration of Racial Discrimination Act) Bill 2009

8:30am -	9:30am	Brotherhood of St Lawrence (sub 66)
----------	--------	-------------------------------------

Professor Paul Smyth, General Manager, Research and

Policy Centre

Mr Tony Nicholson, Executive Director

AngliCare Australia (sub 33)

Ms Kasy Chambers, Executive Director

Catholic Social Services Australia (sub 63)

St Vincent de Paul (sub 16) 9:30 -10:30am

Dr John Falzon, National CEO

Mr Jonathan Campton, National Research Officer

Salvation Army (sub 72)

Ms Wilma Gallet

10:30am -11:15am **Australian Council of Social Services (sub 17)**

Ms Clare Martin. CEO

Mr Peter Davidson, Senior Policy Officer

Ms Jacqui Phillips, Policy Officer

11:15pm -12:00pm **Human Rights Commission (sub 76)**

Mr Mick Gooda, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander

Social Justice Commissioner

Mr Graeme Innes, Disability Discrimination Commissioner

and Race Discrimination Commissioner

Ms Christine Fougere, Deputy Director, Legal Services

Mr Darren Dick, A/g Director, Policy and Programs

12:00pm	12:45pm	Professor Jon Altman (sub 50)
		Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning, University of Technology, Sydney (sub 57)
		Ms Alison Vivian, Senior Researcher
12:45pm	1:30pm	Break
1:30pm	2:00pm	Combined Pensioners and Superannuants Association (sub 14)
		Ms Charmain Crowe, Policy Coordinator
2:00pm	4:00pm	Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs
		Mr Barry Sandison, Acting Deputy Secretary
		Ms Margaret Henderson, Section Head, Indigenous Policy Branch
		Mr Rob Heferen, Deputy Secretary
		Ms Michelle Wilson, A/g Branch Manager, Welfare Payments Reform
		Mr John Litchfield, Branch Manager, Land Reform
		Mr Gavin Matthews, Branch Manager, Welfare Payments Reform
		Mr Geoffrey Richardson, Branch Manager
		Mr Anthony Fields, Group Manager
		Dr Bruce Smith, Branch Manager
		Ms Cath Halbert, Group Manager, Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination
		Attorney-General's Department
		Mr John Boersig, Assistant Secretary, Human Rights Branch, Social Inclusion Division

Ms Sarah Chidgey, Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law and Law Enforcement Branch

Ms Helen Daniels, Assistant Secretary

Centrelink

Ms Roxanne Ramsey, General Manager, Indigenous and Remote Servicing Division

Ms Susan Cartwright, A/g National Manager, Income Management Branch