APPENDIX 2

Public Hearing

Thursday, 6 November 2008 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair)
Senator Scott Ludlam (Substituting for Senator Siewert)
Senator Adams
Senator Bilyk
Senator Humphries
Senator Moore

Witnesses

Aged and Community Services Australia (ASCA)

Ms Leslie Dredge, A/g Chief Executive Officer Mr Roland Naufal, Consultant to ACSA

Australian Taxation Office

Mr Mark Konza, Deputy Commissioner, Small and Medium Enterprises Mr Michael Hardy, Assistant Commissioner, Parliamentary, Issues Management, Technical, Not for Profit, and Government.

Community Housing Federation of Australia

Ms Carol Croce, Executive Director Mr Eddy Bourke, Policy Officer

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Andrew Jaggers, Branch Manager Affordable Housing

Ms Julie Fox, Special Counsel - Commercial Section - Commercial and Indigenous Law Branch

Ms Sue Ham, Section Manager, National Rental Affordability Scheme

Department of the Treasury

Mr Mark O'Connor, Principal Advisor, Personal and retirement Income Division Mr Christopher Leggett, Principal Advisor, Philanthropy and Exemptions Unit Mr Matthew Flavel, Manager, Industry Tax Policy Unit

Housing Industry Association

Mr Chris Lamont, Chief Executive, Policy Ms Kristen Thomkins, Executive Director, Building Policy

National Housing Affordability Summit

Professor Julian Disney, Chair

National Shelter

Mr Adrian Pisarski, Chair

NSW Federation of Housing Associations

Mr Adam Farrer, Executive Director