APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Monday, 30 March 2009 St James Court Conference Centre, West Melbourne

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Catryna Bilyk Senator Sarah Hanson-Young Senator Gary Humphries

Witnesses

Ms Angela Sdrinis, Ryan Carlisle Thomas Lawyers

Mr Frank Golding, National Vice-President of Care Leavers of Australia Network (CLAN)

Alfred Felton Research Program

Professor Cathy Humphreys, Alfred Felton Chair of Child and Family Welfare

Professor Shurlee Swain, Honours/postgraduate co-ordinator, School of Arts and Sciences (Vic), Australian Catholic University

Mr Gavan McCarthy, Director, University of Melbourne eScholarship Research Centre

Ms Rachel Tropea, Archivist, eScholarship Research Centre, University of Melbourne

Centre for Excellence in Child and Family Welfare

Ms Coleen Clare, Chief Executive Officer

Wings for Survivors

Ms Deborah Findlay, Member

Ms Michele Greaves, Member

Mr Mark Kelly, Member

Ms Susan Treweek, Member

Broken Rites (Australia) Collective Inc

Dr Wayne Chamley, Treasurer

Alliance for Forgotten Australians

Ms Caroline Caroll, Chair

Vanish Inc

Ms Maureen Cleary, Manager

Tuesday, 31 March 2009 The Marque Hotel, Perth

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Gary Humphries

Witnesses

CBERS Consultancy

Dr Philippa White, Coordinator Dr Deborah Rosser, Consultant

Mr Andrew Murray, former Senator

Alliance for Forgotten Australians

Associate Professor Maria Harries, Associate Member and private capacity Mr Laurie Humphreys, Representative

Western Australian Department for Communities

Ms Stephanie Withers, Executive Director, Redress WA Dr Marilyn Rock, Senior Redress Officer, Redress WA Ms Eileen O'Reilly, Senior Redress Officer, Redress WA Mr Peter Bayman, Senior Legal Officer

Monday, 6 April 2009 The Greek Club and Conference Centre, South Brisbane

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Sue Boyce Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries

Witnesses

Forde Foundation Board of Advice

Mr Terry Sullivan, Former Chair Mr Errol Evans, Deputy Chair

Historical Abuse Network (HAN)

Ms Grace Hegarty

Ms Gloria Lovely

Ms Colleen Stevenson

Ms Lana Syed-Wassdorp

Ms Diane Tronc

Ms Karen Walsh

Esther Centre

Ms Karyn Walsh, Coordinator

Aftercare Resource Centre, Relationships Australia

Ms Rebecca Ketton, Manager

Ms Susan Kelly, Counsellor

Mr Barry Walton, Director of State Funded Programs

Mr Jim Luthy

Mr Wayne Bradwell

Ms Sue Treweek

Mr Michael Collins

Queensland Government, Department of Communities

Mr Mark Francis, Executive Director

Ms Robyn Etherington, Forde Officer

Short personal statements were provided by:

Ms Lee Ekeberg

Mrs Lana Syed-Waasdorp

Ms Diane Tronc

Ms Marlene Wilson

The hearing concluded with a song performed by Ms Jacinta Burr

Tuesday,7 April 2009 Bankstown Sports and Event Centre, Bankstown

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Don Farrell Senator Mitch Fifield

Witnesses

Positive Justice Centre

Mr John Murray, Founding Member

The Healing Way for Forgotten Australians

Ms Mary Brownlee, Founding Member Mr Lawrie Higgins, Founding Member

Round table session:

Association of Child Welfare Agencies

Mr Andrew McCallum, Chairman

Benevolent Society

Ms Annette Michaux, General Manager Social Policy and Research Ms Janet Henegan, Manager, Post Adoption Resource Centre

United Protestant Association of NSW

Mr Graham Hercus, Aftercare Support

Barnardos Australia

Mr Bill Hoyles, Senior Manager, Youth Affairs and Aftercare

The Fairbridge Foundation

Mr John Kennedy, Chairman of Council

Care Leavers of Australia Network (CLAN)

Ms Leonie Sheedy, President Dr Joanna Penglase, Co-founder

Aftercare Resource Centre (ARC)

Ms Wendy Scollay, Coordinator Ms Julie Holt, Counsellor

Catholic Social Services Australia

Mr Frank Quinlan, Executive Director

New South Wales Government

Ms Linda Mallett, A/Deputy Director-General, Department of Community Services Ms Danielle Woolley, Director, Out-of-Home Care Policy, Department of Community Services

Wednesday,8 April 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Sue Boyce Senator Gary Humphries

Witnesses

The International Association of Former Child Migrants And Their Families

Mr Norman Johnston, President Mr Harold Haig, Secretary

Child Migrants Trust

Ms Margaret Humphreys OAM, International Director Mr Ian Thwaites, Service Manager

Mr Ted Mullighan QC, Former South Australian Commissioner of Inquiry (via teleconference)

South Australian Government (via teleconference)

Mr Steve Ramsey, Executive Director, Families SA

Ms Julie Petersen, Manager, Policy and Strategy, Guardianship and Alternative Care Directorate, Department for Families and Communities

Department of Immigration and Citizenship

Mr Peter Templeton, Assistant Secretary, Settlement Branch Ms Sophie Montgomery, Director, Settlement Planning and Information

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Cate McKenzie, Group Manager, Women and Children's Policy Ms Allyson Essex, Branch Manager

Tasmanian Government (via teleconference)

Ms Alison Jacob, Deputy Secretary, Department of Health and Human Services Ms Leica Wagner, Manager Abuse of Children in State Care Ms Una Hobday, Manager, Adoption & Permanency Services

VISITS BY THE COMMITTEE

VISIT TO LOTUS PLACE, Brisbane Monday, 6 April 2009

The Committee visited Lotus Place which provides a drop in centre and houses HAN, the Esther Centre, ARC and the Forde Foundation Board of Advice in the one premises.

VISIT TO CLAN OFFICE, Sydney Tuesday, 7 April 2009

The Committee visited the CLAN office in Chapel Road, Bankstown, and inspected the National Orphanage Museum and CLAN Library.