APPENDIX 2

Public Hearing

Tuesday, 28 April 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Catryna Bilyk Senator Sarah Hanson-Young Senator Gary Humphries

Witnesses

Professor Jon Altman

National Welfare Rights Network

Ms Kate Beaumont, President (via teleconference) Ms Genevieve Bolton, Supervising Solicitor Mr Gerard Thomas, Policy and Media Officer

North Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency (Sub 4) (via video conference)

Ms Priscilla Collins, Chief Executive Officer Ms Helen Wodak, Advocacy Manager Ms Annabel Pengilley, Welfare Rights Officer

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Mr Gavin Matthews, Branch Manager, Welfare Payment Reform Branch Ms Liz Hefren-Webb, Section Manager, Welfare Payment Reform Branch Ms Helen Board, Branch Manager, CDEP Program Management Branch Mr Bernie Doman, Section Manager, CDEP Program Management Branch Mr Peter Southwell, Branch Manager, Family Payments Branch Mr Ian Wannan, Section Manager, Family Payments Branch