APPENDIX 2

Public Hearings

Tuesday, 10 March 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Catryna Bilyk Senator Carol Brown Senator Mark Furner

Senator Gary Humphries Senator Simon Birmingham Senator Mathias Cormann Senator Nick Xenophon

Witnesses

Australian Hotels Association

Mr Hamish Arthur, National Corporate Affairs Manager

Public Health Association of Australia

Adjunct Professor Michael Moore, Chief Executive Officer Ms Melanie Walker, Health Policy Officer

National Drug Research Institute (via teleconference)

Professor Steve Allsop, Director Associate Professor Tanya Chikritzhs

Australian Medical Association

Dr Rosanna Capolingua, President Mr Francis Sullivan, Secretary General

National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

Associate Professor Anthony Shakeshaft, Senior Lecturer Associate Professor Chris Doran, Health Economist

Australian Drug Foundation Mr Geoffrey Munro, National Policy Manager Ms Amanda Place, National Communication and Marketing Manager

Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Foundation

Professor Ian Webster, Chair Mr Scott Wilson, Deputy Chairperson

Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia

Mr David Templeman, Chief Executive Officer Professor Ian Webster, Patron

Angove Family Winemakers

Mr John Angove, Managing Director

Wednesday, 11 March 2009 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Rachel Siewert (Deputy Chair) Senator Catryna Bilyk Senator Carol Brown Senator Mark Furner Senator Gary Humphries Senator Simon Birmingham Senator Doug Cameron Senator Jacinta Collins Senator Mathias Cormann

Witnesses

Brewers Association of Australia and New Zealand

Mr Stephen Swift, Executive Director

Winemakers' Federation of Australia

Mr Stephen Strachan, Chief Executive Officer Mr Paul van der Lee, Manager Economics and Policy

Independent Distillers Australia

Mr Doug McKay, Executive Chairman

Distilled Spirits Industry Council of Australia

Mr Michael McShane, Chairman Mr Gordon Broderick, Executive Director Ms Lynne Pezzullo, Director, Access Economics Mr Warwick Ryan, Consultant

Preventative Health Taskforce

Professor Rob Moodie, Chair

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr David Kalisch, Deputy Secretary Ms Jennifer Bryant, First Assistant Secretary, Population Health Division Dr Mark Doverty, Senior Advisor, Population Health Division

Department of Treasury

Ms Christine Barron, General Manager, Indirect Tax Division Mr Colin Brown, Manager, Costing and Quantitative Analysis Unit Mr Damian White, Manager, Revenue Analysis Unit Mr Glen McCrea, Manager, Indirect Tax Unit