APPENDIX 2

Public Hearings

Tuesday, 29 April 2008 Crowne Plaza, Alice Springs

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Gary Humphries (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Andrew Bartlett Senator Sue Boyce Senator Trish Crossin Senator Rachel Siewert

Witnesses

Tangentyere Council

Mr William Tilmouth, Chief Executive Officer

Alice Springs Town Council

Mayor Damien Ryan Mr Rex Mooney, Chief Executive Officer

AUSTAR United Communications Ltd

Ms Tracey O'Hanlon, General Manager, Northern Territory Ms Page Henty, Corporate Counsel Mr Elliott Ragg, Technical Operations Manager

Australian Subscription Television and Radio Association (ASTRA)

Ms Debra Richards, Chief Executive Officer

Professor Jon Altman (personal capacity) (via teleconference)

Central Australia Aboriginal Legal Aid Service

Dr Patricia Miller, Chief Executive Officer Mr Mark O'Reilly, Principal Legal Officer

Law Council of Australia

Mr Nick Parmeter, Policy Lawyer (via teleconference)

Ms Raelene Webb, QC, Member, Advisory Committee on Indigenous Legal Issues

Wednesday, 30 April 2008 Crowne Plaza, Darwin

Committee Members in attendance

Senator Claire Moore (Chair) Senator Gary Humphries (Deputy Chair) Senator Judith Adams Senator Andrew Bartlett Senator Sue Boyce Senator Trish Crossin

Witnesses

Northern Land Council

Senator Rachel Siewert

Mr Ron Levy, Principal Legal Adviser

Ms Olga Havnen (personal capacity)

Mr Paul Toohey, Senior Journalist, News Ltd

Police Federation of Australia Northern Territory Police Association

Mr Vince Kelly, President

Northern Territory Legal Aid Commission

Ms Fiona Hussin, Policy and Community Legal Education Officer Mr Michael Petterson, Indigenous Community Liaison Officer

Northern Australian Aboriginal Justice Agency

Mr Julian Johnson, Managing Solicitor, Civil Law Section Mr Glen Dooley, Principal Legal Officer Ms Helen Wodak, Advocacy Manager

Laynhapuy Homelands Association

Ms Yananymul Mununggurr, Chief Executive Officer Mr Ric Norton

Northern Territory Emergency Response Taskforce

Dr Sue Gordon, Chair

Major General Dave Chalmers, Operational Commander

Mr Mark Wellington, National Manager, Northern Territory Emergency Response Operations, Centrelink

Northern Territory Government

Ms Elizabeth Morris, Deputy Chief Executive Officer, Department of Justice Mr Robert Bradshaw, Director, Legal Policy, Department of Justice

Commonwealth Departments

Attorney General's Department

Ms Amanda Davies, Assistant Secretary, Classification Policy Branch (via teleconference)

Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy

Dr Simon Pelling, First Assistant Secretary, Broadcasting and Content Division (via teleconference)

Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs

Ms Lynne Curran, Group Manager, Office of Indigenous Policy Coordination (via teleconference)

Ms Caroline Edwards, Branch Manager, Land Policy and Development (via teleconference)

Centrelink

Mr Mark Wellington, National Manager, Northern Territory Emergency Response Operations

Mr Robin Salvage, National Manager, Income Management Branch (via teleconference)