APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Thursday, 29 September 2005 Conference Rooms 1 & 2, CMA Centre, Level 20, 500 Collins Street, Melbourne

Committee Members in attendance

Senators Moore (Chair) Senator Humphries Senator Adams Senator Allison Senator Carol Brown Senator Polley

Witnesses

GeneEthics Network

Mr Bob Phelps, Executive Director

Construction Material Processors Association

Mr Ron Kerr, Honorary Chief Executive Officer Mr Basil Natoli Mr Donald Williams, consultant, Analytical Science Consultants Pty Ltd and X-Ray Vision Australia Pty Ltd

Australian Institute of Occupational Hygienists

Mr Anthony Jennings Mr Nickolas Karakasch

Australian Lawyers Alliance

Mr John Gordon

Friends of the Earth

Ms Georgia Miller, Co-spokesperson Dr Rye Senjen, Co-spokesperson

Australian & New Zealand Society of Respiratory Science

Professor David Johns, Tasmanian Board Member Dr Kevin Gain

Australian Manufacturing Workers Union

Ms Deborah Vallance, National Health and Safety Coordinator

Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Steve Mullins, Occupational Health and Safety Officer

Friday, 30 September 2005 Hobart Room, Menzies Hotel, Carrington Street, Sydney

Committee Members in attendance

Senators Moore (Chair) Senator Humphries Senator Allison Senator Carol Brown Senator Polley

Witnesses

Cement Concrete and Aggregates Australia

Mr Ken Slattery, Chief Executive Officer Dr John Bisby, Consultant, Medical, Toxicology and Control Systems Mr David McKelvie, Manager, National Occupational Health and Safety, Rinker Australia Pty Ltd

Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union (CFMEU)

Mr Lindsay Fraser, Assistant National Secretary

Somersby Action Committee

Mr Peter Donnelly, Chairman Mrs Ruth Donnelly, Secretary Mrs Glenys Morrison, Committee Member Mr Kenneth Morrison, Committee Member

Coal Services Pty Ltd

Mr Ian Farrar, Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer

Thursday, 10 November 2005 Parliament House, Canberra

Committee Members in attendance

Senators Moore (Chair) Senator Humphries Senator Adams Senator Allison Senator Carol Brown Senator Lundy

Witnesses

Department of Employment and Workplace Relations

Ms Sandra Parker, Group Manager, Office of the Australian Safety and Compensation Council

Mr Wayne Creaser, A/g Assistant Secretary, Standards Branch

Mr Peter Haynes, Director, Chemical Standards

112

Minerals Council of Australia

Mr Rob Rawson, Director, Safety and Health

Mr Andrew McMahon, Policy Officer

Mr Gavin Kele

Professor E Haydn Walters, Professor of Medicine, University of Tasmania and Clinical Chief of Medicine, Royal Hobart Hospital

Mr Richard White and Sandblasting Diseases Coalition

Dr Thomas Faunce, Senior Lecturer, Medical School and Law Faculty, ANU Mr Richard White, Coordinator/convenor, Australian Sandblasting Diseases Coalition Mrs Christine White Ms Kate Flower