\Box 1	1					4
	n	\mathbf{A}	•	Δ 1	ทว	ıte
ı			1 7			

Community Affairs Legislation Committee

Provisions of the Health Legislation Amendment Bill 2005

© Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia 2005

ISBN 0 642 71585 8

Senate Community Affairs Legislation Committee Secretariat

Ms Christine McDonald – Acting Secretary

Mr Alex Olah – Principal Research Officer

Ms Leonie Peake – Research Officer

Ms Ingrid Zappe – Executive Assistant

The Senate

Parliament House

Canberra ACT 2600

Phone: 02 6277 3515

Fax: 02 6277 5829

E-mail: community.affairs.sen@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate ca

This document was produced by the Senate Community Affairs Legislation Committee Secretariat and printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Parliament House, Canberra.

Membership of the Committee

Members

Senator Gary Humphries, Chairman Senator Claire Moore, Deputy Chair

Senator Judith Adams Senator Guy Barnett Senator Steve Fielding Senator Helen Polley

Participating Members

Senator the Hon Eric Abetz

Senator Lyn Allison Senator Andrew Bartlett Senator Mark Bishop

Senator the Hon Ronald Boswell

Senator Bob Brown Senator George Campbell

Senator Kim Carr Senator Grant Chapman

Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck

Senator Helen Coonan Senator Trish Crossin Senator Alan Eggleston Senator Chris Evans

Senator the Hon John Faulkner

Senator Alan Ferguson Senator Jeannie Ferris Senator Michael Forshaw Senator John Hogg

Senator Annette Hurley Senator Barnaby Joyce Senator Ross Lightfoot Senator Joseph Ludwig Senator Kate Lundy Senator Anne McEwen Senator Julian McGauran Senator Jan McLucas

Senator Christine Milne Senator Kerry Nettle Senator Kerry O'Brien Senator Stephen Parry Senator Marise Payne Senator Robert Ray Senator Rachel Siewert

Senator John Watson Senator Ruth Webber

Senator Penny Wong

LP, Australian Capital Territory

ALP, Queensland LP, Western Australia

LP, Tasmania FFP, Victoria ALP, Tasmania

LP, Tasmania AD, Victoria AD, Queensland

ALP, Western Australia NATS, Queensland AG, Tasmania

ALP, New South Wales

ALP, Victoria LP, South Australia LP, Tasmania

LP, New South Wales ALP, Northern Territory LP, Western Australia ALP, Western Australia ALP, New South Wales LP, South Australia LP, South Australia ALP, New South Wales ALP, New South Wales ALP, Queensland ALP, South Australia NATS, Queensland

ALP, Australian Capital Territory

ALP, South Australia NATS, Victoria ALP, Queensland AG, Tasmania

LP, Western Australia

ALP, Queensland

AG, New South Wales

ALP, Tasmania LP, Tasmania

LP, New South Wales

ALP, Victoria

AG, Western Australia

LP, Tasmania

ALP, Western Australia ALP, South Australia

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Membership of the Committee	iii
REPORT –	
THE INQUIRY	1
THE BILL	1
ISSUES	2
RECOMMENDATION	7
ADDITIONAL COMMENTS - Australian Labor Party and Australian Democrats	9
APPENDIX 1 - Submissions received by the Committee	11
APPENDIX 2 - Public Hearing	13