APPENDIX 2

WITNESSES WHO APPEARED BEFORE THE COMMITTEE AT PUBLIC HEARINGS

Tuesday, 6 February 2001 at 4.00 pm, Parliament House, Canberra

Department of Immigration and Multicultural Affairs

Mr Peter Hughes, First Assistant Secretary, Multicultural Affairs and Citizenship Division Mr Graham Mowbray, General Counsel (Immigration), Australian Government Solicitor for DIMA Mr David Page, Assistant Secretary, Settlement Branch Ms Lin White, Director, Settlement Policy and Planning Section

Thursday, 15 February 2001 at 2.55 pm, Hotel Grand Chancellor, Perth

Former Child Migrants

Mr Peter Bent Mr Michael O'Donoghue Mr Bruce Blyth Mr Brendan McCloat Mr Patrick Monaghan Mr Anthony Costa Mrs Hazel Goulding Ms Margaret Humphreys, International Director, Child Migrants Trust Mr Ian Thwaites, Senior Social Worker, Child Migrants Trust Mr Derek Rushbrook, Counsellor, Child Migrants Trust

Mr Brian Tennant

Friday, 16 February 2001 at 9.00 am, Hotel Grand Chancellor, Perth

Child Migrant Friendship Society of WA

Ms Maureen Colgan, President Mrs Maureen Circenis Mrs Rosie Kruger Mr Brian Hoare Mr Lawrence Humphreys

Trustees of the Christian Brothers in WA - Province Archivist

Mrs Josette Mathers, Province Archivist and PHIND Administrator

Australian Child Migrant Foundation

Mr John Hawkins, Chair Professor David Plowman, Executive Officer

Fairbridge WA Inc.

Mr Peter Kyle, Chairman of the Board of Governors Mr Mark Anderson, Chief Executive Officer Mr David Buck, Member, Youth Development Committee

Christian Brothers Ex-Residents & Students Services

Ms Maria Harries, Chair Mr George Horton, Member, Management Committee Dr Debra Rosser, Member, Management Committee

Department for Family & Children's Services

Mr Bob Fisher, Director-General Ms Judith Anderson, Consultant Mr Bill Budiselik, Exective Director Mr John Priestley, Senior Information Officer, Family Information Records Bureau

Thursday, 15 March 2001 at 10.35 am, Downtowner on Lygon, Carlton, Melbourne

Former Child Migrants

Mr Peter Robinson Mr Ken Pound Mr Ronald Taylor Mr Michael Whatham Mr David O'Brien Mr John Murray Mr Ian Thwaites, Senior Social Worker, Child Migrants Trust

Dr Barry Coldrey

Broken Rites (Australia) Collective

Dr Wayne Chamley, Treasurer

International Social Service – Australia

Ms Marilyn Webster, President Ms Diana Carroll, Director

Friday, 16 March 2001 at 11.05 am, Adelaide Town Hall, Adelaide

South Australian Department of Human Services

Mr Ian Procter, General Manager, Family and Youth Services Ms Cynthia Beare, Manager, Adoption and Family Information Unit Ms Kay Goodchild, Social Worker, Adoption & Family Information Service Ms Jeanette Lucas, Senior Social Worker, Adoption & Family Information Service

Former Child Migrants

Ms Patricia Mary Carlson Mr Victor Carlson Mr Peter Harman Mr Paul Price Ms Kay Goodchild, Social Worker, Adoption & Family Information Service

Wednesday, 21 March 2001 at 9.45 am, Centre Point Motor Inn, Rockhampton

Former Child Migrants

Mrs Monica Cosby Ms Patricia Keleher Mrs Patsy Weekers Mrs Pauline Dougan Mrs Theresa Whitfield Mr James Fairley Mr Terence Davis Mr Brian Laing Mr Ian Thwaites, Senior Social Worker, Child Migrants Trust

Department of Families, Queensland

Mrs Julie Anne Bray, Service Development Coordinator, Office of Child Protection Ms Julieann Cork, Forde Contact Officer

Thursday, 22 March 2001 at 9.00 am, Furama Hotel Central, Sydney

Fairbridge Foundation

Mr John Kennedy, Chairman Dr Ian Pollard, Councillor

Care Leavers of Australia Network

Dr Joanna Penglase, President Ms Leonie Sheedy, Secretary

Barnardos Australia

Mr Bill Hoyles, Director, Youth Services and Aftercare Mr John Ruffels, former child migrant and former Management Committee Member

Catholic Church's Joint Liaison Group on Child Migration

Br Tony Shanahan, Convenor Mr Toby O'Connor, Member Sr Daphne McKeough, Member

Mr Alan Gill Professor Geoffrey Sherington

Former Child Migrants

Ms Peggy Rush Mr John Hennessey Mr Ronald Grant Mr Ian Thwaites, Senior Social Worker, Child Migrants Trust

Monday, 26 March 2001 at 9.35 am, Parliament House, Canberra

International Association of Former Child Migrants and Their Families

Mr Norman Johnston, President Mr Donald Coleshill, Vice President Mr Harold Haig, Secretary Mr Desmond McDaid, Committee Coordinator

Child Migrants Trust

Ms Margaret Humphreys, Director Mr Ian Thwaites, Senior Social Worker Ms Sue Bush, Senior Administrator Australia

MEETINGS BY MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE AS A DELEGATION TO LONDON AND OTTAWA

Wednesday, 18 April 2001 - Venue: Australia House, London

His Excellency Mr Michael L'Estrange, High Commissioner, Mr David Ritchie, Deputy High Commissioner, Mr Hugh Borrowman, Counsellor, Political & Trade Policy Branch

International Social Service (UK):

Mr Peter Fry, Director, Mrs Lesley Austin and Mr Chris Platt

Department of Health:

Ms Melissa Simons, Policy Development Manager, Adoption & Permanency Project Mr David Serrant

Thursday, 19 April 2001 - Venue: Australia House, London

National Childrens Homes: Ms Caroline Abrahams, Director of Public Policy Ms Olwen Haslam, Corporate Director Ms Joan Kerry, representative

Fairbridge, Child Migrants Sending Agencies Group:

Lady Aileen Dodds-Parker Mr Gilbert Woods, Company Secretary Ms Dianna Scott

Dr Stephen Constantine, Lancaster University History Department

Barnardos:

Mr Roger Singleton, Chief Executive Officer Ms Collette Bradford, Head of After Care Mr Bob Cook, Principal Manager (Operations)

Mr Vernon Coaker MP, Chair, All-Party Groups - Child Migrants

Friday, 20 April 2001 - Venue: Australia House, London

National Council of Voluntary Child Care Organisations (NCVCCO):

Ms Erica De'Ath, Chief Executive Ms Rizwana Shah, Child Migrant Project Administrator (NCVCCO) Ms Joan Kerry, member of Steering Group Mr Ian Thwaites, Child Migrants Trust and member of Steering Group Ms Kathryn Hutton, Australian Desk Officer, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Mrs Rose Coulson and Ms Sylvia Coulson

Catholic Child Welfare Council:

Ms Patricia McGrogan, Director of Family Care Society (Northern Ireland) and Chair, Subcommittee on Child Migration Ms Siobhan Clemons, Father Hudson's Society (Birmingham) Ms Mary Gandy, General Secretary, Catholic Child Welfare Council

Mr Robin and Mrs Bernadette Evans

Mr Tony McHale

Monday, 23 April 2001 - Venue: Australian High Commission, Ottawa

His Excellency Mr Greg Wood, High Commissioner Discussion with Ms Majorie Kohli (via telephone) Canadian Academic at the University of Waterloo

Discussion with Mr Greg Willoughby (via telephone) Canadian Centre for Home Children

National Archives of Canada:

Ms Marie-Louise Perron, Chief, Genealogy & Personnel Records Section Ms Mary Munk, genealogist Observe accessing of information through electronic records

Venue: National Archives of Canada

International Social Service Canada:

Ms Agnes Casselman, Executive Director

British High Commission in Canada:

Mr Alan Campbell, Political Section Ms Yvonne Rideout, Research and Visits Officer

Tuesday, 24 April 2001 - Ottawa

Canadian Federal Officials:

David Collins, Director, Northern Europe Division, Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade

Patricia Birkett, Director, Citizenship Program, Citizenship and Immigration Canada

Susan Murdock, Manager, Government Action and Institutional Development, Canadian Heritage

Doug Sullivan, Senior Planner, Parks Canada Venue: Australian High Commission

Senator Anne Cools

Mr Ian Wilson - National Archivist Venue: Residence of the Australian High Commissioner

Home Children of Canada: Mrs Kay Lorente Venue: Australian High Commission