

Joint Select Committee on the Christmas Island Tragedy

Chair

Senator Gavin Marshall

Deputy Chair Mr Michael Keenan MP

Members

Senator Michaelia Cash Mr Nick Champion MP Senator Trish Crossin Senator Steve Fielding Senator Sarah Hanson-Young Mr Ed Husic MP Mrs Louise Markus MP Mr Graham Perrett MP

Correspondence and inquiries to:

Secretary Joint Select Committee on the Christmas Island Tragedy PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3521 **Fax:** 02 6277 5706

Email: christmasisland@aph.gov.au

Internet

www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/christ mas_island_ctte/

Inquiry into the Christmas Island Tragedy

Date 27 May 2011 Time 9:00 am

Venue Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House, Canberra

	The Australian Red Cross Mr Noel Clement, Head of Australian Services Ms Kate Jones, National Program Coordinator International Tracing Services
9:45 am – 10:30 am Teleconference	Asylum Seekers Christmas Island Ms Michelle Dimasi, Director
10.30 am – 10.45 am	Break
10:45 am – 11:30 am Teleconference	Coalition for Asylum Seekers, Refugees and Detainees Ms Rosemary Hudson Miller, Chairperson Dr Judith Watson, Executive Secretary
11:30 am – 12:15 pm	Department of Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government Mr Dan O'Brien, Deputy Secretary Programs and Engagement Mr Julian Yates, First Assistant Secretary Territories Ms Belinda Moss, Assistant Secretary Territories West Ms Alexandra Lees,
12.15 pm – 1.15 pm	Lunch
1:15 pm – 2:00 pm	Department of Immigration and Citizenship Mr John Moorhouse, Deputy Secretary Immigration Detention Services Group Mr Greg Kelly, First Assistant Secretary Detention Operations Division Ms Fiona Lynch-Magor, A/g First Assistant Secretary Infrastructure and Services Management Division Ms Janet Mackin, Assistant Secretary, Irregular Maritime Arrivals Mr Peter Richards, Assistant Secretary Detention Operations East Branch
2:00 pm – 3:00 pm	Australian Customs and Border Protection Service
	and Investigations Division Ms Kaylene Zakharoff, National Manager Enforcement Operations Enforcement and Investigations Division Ms Amanda Bott, Regional Director WA People and Place Division Australian Federal Police Mr Andrew Colvin, Deputy Commissioner Operations Mr Frank Prendergast, National Manager International Deployment Group Mr Ramzi Jabbour, Assistant Commissioner National Manager Crime Operations Australian Defence Force Captain Nicholas Stoker, Royal Australian Navy
3:00 pm – 3:15 pm	Ms Roxanne Kelley, A/g Deputy CEO RADM Tim Barrett, Commander BPC Mr Demetrio Veteri, Deputy Commander BPC Mr Nigel Perry, National Director Maritime Operations Support Division Ms Sharon Nyakuengama, A/g National Director Enforcement and Investigations Division Ms Kaylene Zakharoff, National Manager Enforcement Operations Enforcement and Investigations Division Ms Amanda Bott, Regional Director WA People and Place Division Australian Federal Police Mr Andrew Colvin, Deputy Commissioner Operations Mr Frank Prendergast, National Manager International Deployment Group Mr Ramzi Jabbour, Assistant Commissioner National Manager Crime Operations Australian Defence Force