The Senate

Select Committee on the National Broadband Network

Final report

June 2010

© Commonwealth of Australia

ISBN: 978-1-74229-316-5

This document was prepared by the Senate Select Committee on the National Broadband Network and was printed by the Senate Printing Unit, Department of the Senate, Parliament House, Canberra.

Members of the committee

Members

Senator the Hon. Ian Macdonald, **Chair**, LP, QLD Senator Fiona Nash, **Deputy Chair**, NATS, NSW Senator Simon Birmingham, LP, SA^{*} Senator Mary Jo Fisher, LP, SA^{*} Senator Scott Ludlam, AG, WA Senator Kate Lundy, ALP, ACT Senator Glenn Sterle, ALP, WA

*Senator Mary Jo Fisher was Chair of the Committee from 25 June 2008 to 3 February 2010.
*Senator Simon Birmingham was Deputy Chair of the Committee from 27 June 2008 to 25 September 2008.

Secretariat

Dr Ian Holland Ms Fiona Roughley Ms Christina Tieu Secretary Principal Research Officer Executive Assistant

Suite \$1.61Telephone:(02) 6277 3635Parliament HouseFax:(02) 6277 5794CANBERRA ACT 2600Email: broadband.sen@aph.gov.au

Table of contents

Members of the committee iii
Table of contentsv
Recommendationsvii
Chapter 11
Context of the inquiry
Conduct of the inquiry
Acknowledgements
Note on references
Chapter 25
Implementation Study5
Introduction
Matters previously addressed in interim reports5
General response to the Implementation Study
The importance of a cost-benefit analysis of the NBN9
No cost-benefit analysis conducted
No certainty on key aspect of the NBN project15
Information needs to be put in the public domain24
Government Senators' Report
Additional Comments – Australian Greens
Appendix 1
Terms of Reference

Appendix 2	41
Previous recommendations of the committee	41
Recommendations of Fourth Interim Report	41
Recommendations of Third Report	47
Recommendations of Second Interim Report	49
Comments and conclusions of Interim Report	51
Appendix 3	55
Submissions received	55
Appendix 4	61
Public hearings	61
Appendix 5	63
Additional materials	63