The committee

The Standing Committee on Appropriations and Staffing, appointed under standing order 19, determines the amounts for inclusion in the parliamentary appropriation bills and reports to the Senate on its determinations prior to the Senate's consideration of those bills

The committee also examines matters affecting the staffing and administration of the Department of the Senate, including proposals to vary the staffing structure, and other matters referred to it by the Senate. It makes an annual report to the Senate on the operations of the Senate's appropriations and staffing and related matters (standing order 19(3)). Under a resolution of the Senate agreed to in 1987 the committee also examines proposed changes in the structure and responsibilities of the parliamentary departments.

The committee is chaired by the President and includes the Senate Leaders of the Government and the Opposition as *ex officio* members.

Members of the committee

The President of the Senate, Senator the Hon. Paul Calvert (Chairman)
The Leader of the Government in the Senate, Senator the Hon. Robert Hill
The Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, Senator the Hon. John Faulkner
Senator Lyn Allison
Senator the Hon. Nick Bolkus
Senator the Hon. Ron Boswell
Senator Jeannie Ferris
Senator the Hon. Bill Heffernan
Senator Robert Ray

Secretary

Richard Pye SG.25 Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600

Tel: 02 6277 3015 Fax: 02 6277 5784

E-mail: approps@aph.gov.au

Internet: http://www.aph.gov.au/senate/committee/app_ctte/index.htm