Appendix 2

Public hearings and witnesses

Adelaide, Wednesday 3 May 2006

South Australia Police

Detective Chief Superintendent Denis Edmonds, Officer in Charge, Strategy and Support Branch, Crime Service, South Australia Police

OzTox Collaboration

Dr David Caldicott, Convenor

Perth, Thursday 4 May 2006

West Australia Police

Detective Senior Sergeant Paul McMurtrie, Officer in Charge, Organised Crime Squad Detective Superintendent Kim Porter, Divisional Superintendent, Organised Crime Division Detective Inspector Frederick Scupham, Assistant Divisional Officer, Organised Crime Division

Sergeant Gill Wilson, Drug Education Officer, Alcohol and Drug Coordination Section

National Drug Research Institute

Dr Susan Carruthers, Research Fellow

Drug and Alcohol Office

Miss Eleanor Costello, Manager, Drug Programs Branch, Prevention and Practice Development Directorate Mr Terry Murphy, Acting Executive Director

Brisbane, Monday 15 May 2006

Queensland Alcohol and Drug Research and Education Centre

Mr Greg Fowler, Senior Research Officer

TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland

Dr Andreas Schloenhardt, Senior Lecturer

Enlighten Harm Reduction

Mr Michael Brennan, Consultant and Researcher Mr John Davidson, Spokesperson

Queensland Police Service

Superintendent Tonya Carew, Superintendent and District Officer, Brisbane Central District Detective Inspector John Hartwell, Criminal Investigations Branch, Gold Coast

Queensland Crime and Misconduct Commission

Mr Chris Keen, Director, Intelligence

Sydney, Tuesday16 May 2006

Australian Self-Medication Industry

Dr Christopher Arblaster, Director, Marketing and Development

New South Wales Police

Detective Superintendent David Laidlaw, Commander, Drug Squad Detective Inspector Paul Willingham, Investigations Coordinator, Chemical Operations

National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre

Dr Louisa Degenhardt, Senior Lecturer Professor Richard Mattick, Director Dr Rebecca McKetin, Research Fellow

Canberra, Monday 5 June 2006

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare

Dr Ann Allbon, Director (CEO) Mr Mark Cooper-Stanbury, Head, Population Health Unit Ms Rosamond Madden, Head, Functioning and Disability Unit Dr Paul Magnus, Acting Head, Health and Functioning Group Ms Chrysanthe Psychogios, Project Manager and Senior Analyst

Australia Institute

Mr Andrew Macintosh, Deputy Director

Families and Friends for Drug Law Reform

Mr William Bush, Member Mr John Ley, Vice-President Mr Brian McConnell, President

Department of Health and Ageing

Ms Karen Price, Director, Research Data and Policy Development, Drug Strategies Branch, Population Health Division Ms Linda Rigby, Assistant Director, Illicit Drugs Section, Drug Strategy Branch, Population Health Division Mr Andrew Stuart, First Assistant Secretary, Population Health Division

Australian Customs Service

Mr Craig Lindsay, Director, Law Enforcement Strategy, Law Enforcement Strategy and Security Branch, Border Intelligence and Passengers

Mr John Valastro, National Manager, Law Enforcement Strategy and Security Branch, Border Intelligence and Passengers

Australian Federal Police

Federal Agent Bruce Hill, Manager, Border Federal Agent Michael Phelan, National Manager, Border and Intelligence Network

Australian Crime Commission

Mr Kevin Kitson, Director, National Criminal Intelligence Mr Alastair Milroy, Chief Executive Officer Mr Michael Outram, Director, National Operations

Canberra, Monday 19 June 2006

Department of Health and Ageing

Mr Mark Cooper-Stanbury, Director, Outposted Australian Institute of Health and Welfare Unit, Strategic Planning Branch, Population Health Division

Ms Karen Price, Director, Research Data and Policy Development, Drug Strategies Branch, Population Health Division

Ms Allison Rosevear, Acting Assistant Secretary, Drug Strategy Branch, Population Division Mr Andrew Stuart, First Assistant Secretary, Population Health Division

Attorney-General's Department

Mrs Melinda Cockshutt, Acting Assistant Secretary, Criminal Law and Policy Review Section, Criminal Law Branch

Mr Craig Harris, Assistant Secretary, National Law Enforcement Policy Branch, Criminal Justice Division

Melbourne, Friday 13 October 2006

Victoria Police

Inspector Martin Boorman, Officer in Charge, Traffic Alcohol Section, Technical Unit Detective Inspector James O'Brien

Deputy Commissioner Simon Overland

Ms Catherine Quinn, Manager, Drug and Alcohol Branch, Victoria Police Forensic Services Centre

Pharmacy Guild of Australia

Ms Jenny Bergin, Director, Community Pharmacy Practice Division, National Secretariat Mr Timoth Logan, President, Queensland Branch; and Vice-President, National Mr Peter McBeath, Vice-President

Enlighten Harm Reduction

Mr John Davidson, Spokesperson

Association for Prevention and Harm Reduction Programs

Mr John Ryan, Chief Executive Officer

VIVAIDS Inc.

Mr Damon Brogan, Chief Executive Officer Ms Lisa (Purple) Hazelwood, RaveSafe Coordinator

New South Wales Users and AIDS Association Inc.

Mr Michael Lodge, General Manager