Appendix 4

Changes to Departmental Structure

Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry

On 16 June 2008, the department's structure was changed to better reflect the government's priorities for the portfolio.¹

| Current divisions | Changes |
|---------------------------------|---|
| Corporate Policy | |
| Management Services | |
| Agricultural Productivity | Previously known as Food and Agriculture. |
| | Incorporates sections of the previous Rural Policy and Innovation division. |
| Trade and Market Access | Previously known as the International division. |
| | Incorporates sections of the previous Fisheries and Forestry division. |
| Biosecurity Australia | |
| Sustainable Resource Management | Previously known as Natural Resource Management. |
| | Incorporates sections of the previous Fisheries and Forestry division. |

New departmental structure

¹ Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, *Annual Report 2007–08*, p. 204. See also pp 11–14.

| 42 | |
|--|---|
| Current divisions | Changes |
| Climate Change | New division. |
| | Incorporates sections of the previous Rural Policy and Innovation and the Fisheries and Forestry divisions. |
| Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service | |
| Product Integrity, Animal and Plant Health | |
| Bureau of Rural Sciences | |
| Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics | |

Previous departmental structure

| Corporate Policy | |
|--|--|
| Management Services | |
| Food and Agriculture | |
| International | |
| Biosecurity Australia | |
| Natural Resource Management | |
| Rural Policy and Innovation | |
| Fisheries and Forestry | |
| Australian Quarantine and Inspection Service | |
| Product Integrity, Animal and Plant Health | |
| Bureau of Rural Sciences | |
| Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics | |

Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government

In February 2009, the department made adjustments to its organisational structure in response to recent initiatives by the government and their priorities in relation to nation building, infrastructure, Northern Australia, and local government and regional development.²

The secretary of the department, Mr Michael Taylor, indicated that all of the elements relating to the government's nation building initiatives (items 3-5 below) have been brought under one group. In addition, all of the aviation and security areas (items 6-8 below) have been brought together. Finally, the department has clearly identified and separated out the roles of the Office of Northern Australia and the responsibilities of Local Government and Regional Development (items 10 and 11 below).³

| Current divisions | Changes |
|--|--|
| 1. Corporate Services | |
| 2. Infrastructure Australia | |
| 3. Nation Building—Infrastructure Investment | Previously known as Infrastructure Investment |
| 4. Infrastructure and Surface Transport Policy | |
| 5. National Transport Strategy | |
| 6. Aviation and Airports | |
| 7. Australian Transport Safety Bureau | |
| 8. Office of Transport Security | |
| 9. Inspector of Transport Security | |
| 10. Local Government and Regional Development | |

New departmental structure

² *Proof Estimates Hansard*, 24 February 2009, p. 3.

³ *Proof Estimates Hansard*, 24 February 2009, p. 3.

| Current divisions | Changes |
|--|---|
| 11. Office of Northern Australia | New division. Formerly part of Local Government and Regional Development |
| 12. Bureau of Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Economics | |