## SENATE STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS AUSTRALIAN FEDERAL POLICE

# Question No. 47

### Senator Barnett asked the following question at the hearing of 26 May 2011:

**Senator BARNETT:** Thank you, that is fantastic. On notice, if you can forward the criteria upon which it is decided that those officers are appointed to those [11] airports [which have AFP officers], that would be great.

**Mr Drennan:** The criteria there certainly belong to the Office of Transport Security and they are the ones who actually conduct those assessments. As I say, we feed into those. **Senator BARNETT:** Do they forward you a copy of the criteria? Do you have access to the criteria?

**Mr Drennan:** We have access to the criteria but they actually belong to that department. **Senator BARNETT:** If you could use your best endeavours. If it is a difficult thing, do not worry, but if you could use your best endeavours to forward that to the committee, that would be appreciated.

#### The answer to the honourable senator's question is as follows:

The Office of Transport Security within the Department of Infrastructure and Transport (DIT) is responsible for classifying designated airports.

The designated airports are defined in Division 3.5 'Counter-terrorist first response function' of the *Aviation Transport Security Regulations 2005*:

## **3.27 Definition – designated airport**

In this Division:

designated airport means each of the following airports:

- a) Adelaide Airport;
- b) Alice Springs Airport;
- c) Brisbane Airport;
- d) Cairns Airport;
- e) Canberra Airport;
- f) Coolangatta Airport;
- g) Darwin Airport;
- h) Hobart Airport;
- i) Melbourne Airport;
- j) Perth Airport;
- k) Sydney Airport.

Criteria used to classify airports is set by DIT.