ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates Hearing 21-24 May 2012

Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Outcome/Program: 1.1.1 Domestic Policy **Topic:** COAG Councils - terms of reference

Senator: Senator Payne

Question reference number: 8

Type of Question: FPA P85, 21 May 2012

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 6 July 2012

Number of pages: 6

Question:

Senator PAYNE: In recognition of the minister's offer of assistance before, in relation to the councils can you indicate for the committee on notice who the secretariat is for each committee and where that is located. Are they all Commonwealth secretariats?

Ms Cross: No.

Senator PAYNE: Then whether Commonwealth or state and which state and in which department. Are they all chaired by Commonwealth ministers?

Ms Cross: No.

Senator PAYNE: So an entire breakdown of the structure.

Ms Cross: For some councils the chair rotates anyway. We will give you the information but it will only be current for that period.

Senator PAYNE: The end of May is in 10 days time. Can you let me know which if any of those final six plans have not been submitted by the end of May.

Mr Hazlehurst: Yes, Senator.

Answer:

The attached table provides the details of the Secretariat for each Standing and Select Council and Legislative and Governance Forum including the current Chair and the physical address.

As at 13 June 2012, there are four Councils that have not submitted their Project Plans. These are the Standing Council on Regional Australia, the Select Council on Disability Reform, the Select Council on Housing and Homelessness and the Select Council on Immigration and Settlement.

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates Hearing 21-24 May 2012

Council Name	Council Chair	Does the chair rotate?	Secretariat Physical Address
Standing Council on Community and Disability Services	(Tasmania) The Hon Cassy O'Connor MP Minister for Human Services Minister for Community Development, Minister for Climate Change Minister for Aboriginal Affairs	Rotates annually	Level 3, Citi Centre Building, 11-13 Hindmarsh Square, ADELAIDE SA 5000
Standing Council on Energy and Resources	(Commonwealth) The Hon Martin Ferguson MP AM, Minister for Resources and Energy	Permanent	Level 6 51 Allara Street CANBERRA, ACT, 2601
Standing Council on Environment and Water	(Commonwealth) The Hon Tony Burke MP, Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities	Permanent	First Floor, John Gorton Building, King Edward Terrace, PARKES ACT 2601
Standing Council on Health	(Western Australia) The Hon Dr Kim Hames MLA, Minister for Health	Rotates annually	Level 3, Citi Centre Building, 11-13 Hindmarsh Square, ADELAIDE SA 5000
Standing Council on Federal Financial Relations	(Commonwealth) The Hon Wayne Swan MP, Treasurer	Permanent	Federal Relations Secretariat, Department of The Treasury, Langton Crescent, PARKES ACT 2600
Standing Council on Law and Justice	(Tasmania) The Hon Brian Wightman MP Attorney-General Minister for Justice	Rotates each meeting	Level 13, 10 Spring Street, SYDNEY NSW 2000
Standing Council on Police and Emergency Management	(Victoria) Hon Peter Ryan MLA, Minister for Police and Emergency Services in Victoria	Rotates annually	Attorney-General's Department 3-5 National Circuit BARTON ACT 2600

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates Hearing 21-24 May 2012

Council Name	Council Chair	Does the chair rotate?	Secretariat Physical Address
Standing Council on Primary Industries	(Commonwealth) Senator the Hon Joe Ludwig, Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry	Permanent	Level 11, 18 Marcus Clarke Street, CANBERRA ACT 2600
Standing Council on Regional Australia	(Commonwealth) The Hon Simon Crean MP, Minister for Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government	Permanent	4 Mort St, Civic, CANBERRA ACT 2600
Standing Council on School Education and Early Childhood	(Western Australia) The Hon Dr Elizabeth Constable MLA, Minister for Education The Hon. Robyn McSweeney MLC, Minister for Child Protection; Community Services; Seniors and Volunteering; Women's Interests; Youth	Rotates annually	3 rd floor 15-31 Pelham St CARLTON VIC 3053
Standing Council on Tertiary Education, Skills and Employment	(Commonwealth) Senator the Hon Chris Evans, Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Science and Research	Permanent	SCOTESE-NSOC Secretariat C/- DEEWR Level 10 215 Adelaide Street BRISBANE QLD 4000
Standing Council on Transport and Infrastructure	(Commonwealth) The Hon Anthony Albanese MP, Minister for Infrastructure and Transport	Permanent	111 Alinga St, CANBERRA ACT 2601
Select Council on Climate Change	(Commonwealth) The Hon Greg Combet MP AM, Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency	Permanent	5 Farrell Place, CANBERRA ACT 2601

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates Hearing 21-24 May 2012

Council Name	Council Chair	Does the chair rotate?	Secretariat Physical Address
Select Council on Disability Reform	(Commonwealth) The Hon Wayne Swan MP, Treasurer, and the Hon Jenny Macklin MP, Minister for Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs	Permanent	Medibank Health Solutions House, 15 Bowes St, WODEN ACT 2606
Select Council on Gambling Reform	(Commonwealth) The Hon Jenny Macklin MP, Minister for Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs The Hon David Bradbury MP, Assistant Treasurer	Permanent	SCG Secretariat The East Wing 58 Athllon Drive GREENWAY ACT 2900
Select Council on Housing & Homelessness	(Commonwealth) The Hon Brendan O'Connor MP, Minister for Housing and Homelessness	Yet to be determined	Level 4, Medibank Health Solutions House, 15 Bowes St, WODEN ACT 2606
Select Council on Immigration and Settlement	(Commonwealth) The Hon Chris Bowen MP Minister for Immigration and Citizenship	Permanent	6 Chan Street Belconnen ACT 2617
Select Council on Women's Issues	(Commonwealth) The Hon Julie Collins MP, Minister for the Status of Women	Rotates each meeting	Office for Women Department of Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs Tuggeranong Office Park Soward Way (Cnr Athllon Drive) GREENWAY ACT 2900

ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Budget Estimates Hearing 21-24 May 2012

Council Name	Council Chair	Does the chair rotate?	Secretariat Physical Address
Select Council on Workplace Relations	(Commonwealth) The Hon Bill Shorten MP Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations and Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation	Permanent	Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations 148-180 City Walk, CANBERRA ACT 2601
Legislative and Governance Forum on Consumer Affairs	(South Australia) The Hon John Rau MP Attorney-General; Minister for Business Services and Consumers	Rotates annually	Executive Officer, Infrastructure, Competition and Consumer Division, Department of Treasury, Langton Crescent, PARKES ACT 2600
Legislative and Governance Forum on Corporations	(Commonwealth) The Hon Bernie Ripoll MP, Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer	Permanent	The Treasury Building, Langton Cres, PARKES, ACT, 2600
Legislative and Governance Forum on Food Regulation	(Commonwealth) The Hon Catherine King MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing	Permanent	Food Regulation Secretariat Level 7, Scarborough House Atlantic Street WODEN ACT 2606
Legislative and Governance Forum on Gene Technology	(Commonwealth) The Hon Catherine King MP, Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing	Rotates annually	Department of Health and Ageing, Scarborough House, Level 7, Atlantic St, WODEN ACT 2606
Legislative and Governance Forum on the Murray-Darling Basin	(Commonwealth) The Hon Tony Burke MP, Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities	Permanent	Murray-Darling Basin Authority, Level 4, 51 Allara Street, CANBERRA ACT 2600