Department/Agency: Department of the Senate **Topic:** Board Appointments

Senator: Senator Ryan Question reference number: 14 Type of Question: Written

Question

1. List all of the boards within this portfolio, including: board title, terms of appointment, tenure of appointment and members.

Answer

Under section 65A of the Parliamentary Service Act 1999, a Security Management Board is established. The Board consists of:

- the Secretary of the joint Department, or an SES employee of that department nominated by the Presiding Officers in writing; and
- an SES employee of the Department of the Senate nominated by the President of the Senate in writing; and
- an SES employee of the Department of the House of Representatives nominated by the Speaker of the House of Representatives in writing; and
- the Parliamentary Budget Officer, or an SES employee of the Parliamentary Budget Office nominated by the Presiding Officers in writing. [Yet to be appointed]

2. What is the gender ratio on each board and across the portfolio?

Answer

The current gender ratio is two female members and one male member.

3. Please detail any board appointments for this financial year to date.

Answer

The current appointments are: Ms Carol Mills (Secretary, DPS, Chair) Ms Robyn McClelland (Serjeant-at-Arms) Mr Brien Hallett (Usher of the Black Rod)