# Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee

## ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE BUDGET ESTIMATES 2011-2012

### Prime Minister and Cabinet Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet Outcome/Program: 1.1.2 – National Security and International Policy

**Topic: National Security Committee** 

**Senator: Boyce** 

**Question reference number: 34 Type of question: Written** 

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: 8 July 2011

Number of pages: 2

#### **Question:**

Would the department please advise -

- 1. when the committee was first formed?
- 2. membership of the committee (including the name of ministers and the portfolio held) during each successive ministry since the formation of the committee? during the Howard, Rudd and Gillard Governments.

#### **Answer:**

- 1. 1996
- 2. Membership of the National Security Committee of Cabinet since 1996:

Gillard Government	Rudd Government	Howard Government
24.6.2010 – Present	3.12.2007 – 24.6.2010	26.10.2004 - 3.12.2007
Ms Julia Gillard*	Mr Kevin Rudd*	Mr John Howard*
(Prime Minister)	(Prime Minister)	(Prime Minister)
Mr Wayne Swan**	Ms Julia Gillard**	Mr John Anderson**
(Deputy Prime Minister and	(Deputy Prime Minister)	(Deputy Prime Minister)
Treasurer)		replaced by
		Mr Mark Vaile**
		(Deputy Prime Minister)
		on 6.7.2005
SEN Chris Evans	Mr Wayne Swan	Mr Peter Costello
(Immigration)	(Treasurer)	(Treasurer)
replaced by		
Mr Chris Bowen		
(Immigration) on 14.9.10		
Mr Robert McClelland	SEN Chris Evans	Mr Alexander Downer
(Attorney-General)	(Immigration)	(Foreign Affairs)
Mr Brendan O'Connor	Mr Joel Fitzgibbon	Mr Phillip Ruddock
(Home Affairs & Justice)	(Defence)	(Attorney-General)
	replaced by	
	SEN John Faulkner	
	(Defence) on 5.6.2009	

Mr Kevin Rudd	Mr Stephen Smith	SEN Robert Hill
(Foreign Affairs after	(Foreign Affairs)	(Defence)
14.9.2010)		replaced by
		Dr Brendan Nelson
		(Defence) on 27.1.2006
Mr Stephen Smith	Mr Robert McClelland	
(Foreign Affairs then Defence	(Attorney-General)	
after 14.9.2010)		

<b>Howard Government</b>	<b>Howard Government</b>	<b>Howard Government</b>
26.11.2001 - 26.10.2004	21.10.1998 - 26.11.2001	11.3.1996 - 21.10.1998
Mr John Howard*	Mr John Howard*	Mr John Howard*
(Prime Minister)	(Prime Minister)	(Prime Minister)
Mr John Anderson**	Mr Tim Fisher **	Mr Tim Fisher **
(Deputy Prime Minister)	(Deputy Prime Minister)	(Deputy Prime Minister)
Mr Peter Costello	Mr Peter Costello	Mr Peter Costello
(Treasurer)	(Treasurer)	(Treasurer)
Mr Alexander Downer	Mr Alexander Downer	Mr Alexander Downer
(Foreign Affairs)	(Foreign Affairs)	(Foreign Affairs)
Dr Daryl Williams	Dr Daryl Williams	Dr Daryl Williams
(Attorney-General)	(Attorney-General)	(Attorney-General)
replaced by		
Mr Phillip Ruddock		
(Attorney-General)		
on 7.10.2003		
SEN Robert Hill	Mr Phillip Ruddock	Mr Phillip Ruddock
(Defence)	(Immigration)	(Immigration)
	Mr John Moore	Mr Ian McLachlan
	(Defence)	(Defence)

<sup>\*</sup> denotes chair of the Committee \*\* denotes deputy chair of the Committee