Senate Finance and Public Administration Legislation Committee ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE BUDGET ESTIMATES 2011-2012

Finance and Deregulation Portfolio

Department/Agency: Department of Finance and Deregulation Outcome/Program: General **Topic:** Board Appointments

Senator: Fifield Question reference number: F83 **Type of question:** Written

Date set by the committee for the return of answer: Friday, 8 July 2011

Number of pages: 3

Question:

- a) What is the gender ratio on each board and across the portfolio
- b) Please detail any board appointments for the FYTD

Answer:

For the purposes of answering this question FYTD is taken to be the period 1 July 2010 - 31 May 2011.

a)

Gender ratio on boards and bodies across the Finance and Deregulation Portfolio as at 31 May $2011\,$

Board/Body	Ratio
Australian Electoral Commission	3:0
Albury-Wodonga Corporation	3:1
ASC Pty Ltd	7:1
Australian River Co. Limited	3:0
Comcover Advisory Council	6:1
Medibank Private	4:4
Australian Political Exchange Council	6:1
Australian Government Employees Superannuation Trust	2:5
Australian Reward Investment Alliance	6:1
Future Fund of Guardians	5:2
Parliamentary Retiring Allowances Trust	4:1
Total Ratio across the Portfolio	49:17

b) Refer to Attachment A.

Finance and Deregulation Portfolio Appointments and Reappointments to Boards and Bodies - 1 July 2010 - 31 May 2011

Attachment A

Body	Name	Gender	State of Residence	Position	Appointment Status	Initial Appointment	Date of Reappointment	End Date
Albury-Wodonga Corporation	Dr Laurance Andrew Watson	Male	VIC	Director	Reappointed	26/09/2007	8/12/2010	7/12/2013
Albury-Wodonga Corporation	Mr William Hanrahan	Male	NSW	Chairperson	Reappointed	4/02/1997	1/01/2011	31/12/2013
Albury-Wodonga Corporation	Ms Carol Judd	Female	NSW	Director	Reappointed	1/05/2008	12/05/2011	30/06/2014
Australian River Co. Limited	Mr David Yarra PSM	Male	NSW	Chairperson	Reappointed	18/04/2008	18/04/2011	17/04/2013
Comcover Advisory Council	Steve Jennaway	Male	ACT	Member	Initial	1/01/2011	NA	31/12/2013
Comcover Advisory Council	John Hayes	Male	NSW	Member	Reappointed	11/03/2008	1/01/2011	31/12/2013
Comcover Advisory Council	Ms Raff Pisano	Female	VIC	Member	Reappointed	11/03/2008	1/01/2011	31/12/2013
Medibank Private	Mr Philip Twyman	Male	NSW	Director	Reappointed	21/09/2007	21/12/2010	20/12/2012
Medibank Private	Ms Jane Harvey	Female	VIC	Director	Reappointed	21/09/2007	21/12/2010	20/12/2013
Australian Government Employees Superannuation Trust	Dr Kristin Van Barneveld	Female	ACT	Director - Member Representative	Initial	20/04/11	NA	Ongoing
Australian Government Employees Superannuation Trust	Ms Maria Wilton	Female	ACT	Director - Employer Representative	Initial	27/04/11	N/A	Ongoing
Australian Government Employees Superannuation Trust	Mr Michael Fisher	Male	VIC	Director - Member Representative	Initial	27/07/10	NA	Ongoing
Australian Reward Investment Alliance	Ms Winsome Hall	Female	NSW	Member Representative	Reappointed	1/07/96	1/10/10	30/09/13

F83

Body	Name	Gender	State of Residence	Position	Appointment Status	Initial Appointment	Date of Reappointment	End Date
Australian Reward Investment Alliance	Mr David Irons - (currently filled on an acting basis)	Male	VIC	Member Representative	Acting	14/05/11	N/A	Unknown
Australian Reward Investment Alliance	Mr Tony Cole AO	Male	NSW	Employer Representative	Initial	16/12/10	N/A	5/12/13
Future Fund Board of Guardians	Dr John Mulcahy	Male	NSW	Member	Reappointed	3/04/2006	3/04/2011	2/04/2015
Future Fund Board of Guardians	Mr David Murray AO	Male	NSW	Chair	Reappointed	3/04/2006	3/04/2011	2/04/2012
Future Fund Board of Guardians	Mr Stephen Fitzgerald	Male	NSW	Member	Initial	3/04/2011	NA	2/04/2016
Future Fund Board of Guardians	Ms Carol Austin	Female	NSW	Member	Initial	3/04/2011	NA	2/04/2016
Parliamentary Retiring Allowances Trust	Senator the Hon Penny Wong (Note: Minister Sherry has been authorised as Minister Wong's representative on the Trust)	Female	SA	Chair	Initial	14/09/2010	NA	Ongoing
Parliamentary Retiring Allowances Trust	The Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP	Male	NSW	Trustee	Initial	19/10/2010	NA	Ongoing