Senate Standing Committee on Education Employment and Workplace Relations

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Supplementary Budget Estimates 2010-2011

Outcome 3 - Higher Education

DEEWR Question No.EW0664_11

Senator Mason asked on 21/10/2010, Hansard page 91.

Question

EDUCATION INVESTMENT FUND - ROUND 2

Senator MASON—Philip Marcus Clark said that the board was aware that fast-tracking round 2 did not provide time for consultation with the sectors before the round. Has the department received any adverse feedback from applicants, including some unsuccessful applicants, from the second and third funding rounds including about the use of a single application stage process for round 2? Ms Campbell—I do not think we have that information here at the table. We could take that on notice for you. Senator MASON—Thank you. Since the inception of the board, has the board membership changed? Ms Paul—My recollection is that one or two members have been added, but I would not want to swear to that. Can we take it on notice? Senator MASON—Yes. Ms Paul—Why don't we give you the ons and offs with the dates, because some have gone and some have come? Senator MASON—Thank you.

Answer

Feedback on EIF Rounds

The Department has not received any adverse feedback from applicants regarding the way in which Rounds 2 and 3 (including the Sustainability Round) were conducted.

Board Membership

The Education Investment Fund (EIF) came into effect on 1 January 2009 when it was credited with the balance of the former Higher Education Endowment Fund (HEEF).

To date, there have been three Advisory Boards:

- The HEEF Advisory Board (25 September 2007 1 January 2009);
- The Interim EIF Advisory Board (12 November 2008 31 December 2008);
- The EIF Advisory Board (1 January 2009 ongoing).

HEEF Advisory Board

On 25 September 2007, the thenMinister for Education, the Hon Julie Bishop MP, appointed the HEEF Advisory Board in accordance with the *Higher Education Endowment Fund Act 2007*. The HEEF Advisory Board was terminated on 1 January 2009 following the establishment of the EIFthrough the *Nation-building Funds Act 2008* on 1 January 2009.

HEEF Advisory Board			
Name of appointee	Date appointment	Date appointment	
	made	expired	
Mr Philip Clark AM (chair)	25 September 2007	1 January 2009	
Dr Peter Farrell AM	25 September 2007	1 January 2009	
Dr Cherrell Hirst AO	25 September 2007	1 January 2009	
Mr John Poynton AM	25 September 2007	1 January 2009	
Dr Michael Vertigan AC	25 September 2007	1 January 2009	
Chief Scientist of Australia (exofficio) Dr Jim Peacock AC	25 September 2007	31 August 2008 (date of retirement from position as Chief Scientist of Australia)	
Professor Penny Sackett	3 November 2008	1 January 2009	
Secretary of the then Department of Education, Science and Training (ex-officio) Ms Lisa Paul PSM	25 September 2007	1 January 2009	

Interim EIF Advisory Board

On 12 November 2008, pursuant to the *Nation-building Funds (Consequential Amendments) Act 2008* legislation, the then Minister for Education, the Hon Julia Gillard MP, and the Minister for Research, Senator the Hon Kim Carr, appointed an Interim EIF Advisory Board, with appointments effective until 31 December 2008. The Interim EIF Advisory Board made recommendations to Ministers on interim EIF projects so that they could be considered by Government in December 2008. This enabled the Government to fast track its nation building agenda.

Interim EIF Advisory Board				
Name of appointee	Date appointment	Date appointment		
	made	expired		
Mr Philip Clark AM (chair)	12 November 2008	31 December 2008		
Dr Cherrell Hirst AO	12 November 2008	31 December 2008		
Dr Michael Vertigan AC	12 November 2008	31 December 2008		
Secretary of the Department of	12 November 2008	31 December 2008		
Education, Science and Training				
(ex-officio)				
Ms Lisa Paul PSM				
Secretary of Department of	12 November 2008	31 December 2008		
Innovation, Industry, Science				
and Research (DIISR) or				
appointee (ex-officio)				
Mr Mark Paterson AO				

EIF Advisory Board

In February 2009, the then Minister for Education, the Hon Julia Gillard MP, and the Minister for Research, Senator the Hon Kim Carr, appointed the EIF Advisory Board. The Board was appointed to provide support for the Government's fast tracked nation-building program in response to the global financial crisis.

EIF Advisory Board			
Name of appointee	Date appointment	Date appointment	
	made	expires	
Mr Philip Clark AM (Chair)	1 January 2009	31 December 2012	
Dr Mike Vertigan AC	11 February 2009	10 February 2012	
Dr Cherrell Hirst AO	11 February 2009	10 February 2012	
Secretary of the Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations(DEEWR) or appointee (ex-officio) Ms Lisa Paul PSM	11 February 2009	10 February 2012	
Secretary of DIISR or appointee (ex-officio) Mr Mark Paterson AO	11 February 2009	10 February 2012	
Chief Scientist of Australia (exofficio) Professor Penny Sackett	11 February 2009	July 2009 (date of resignation from the EIF Advisory Board*)	

In October 2009, the following four additional members were added to the Board by Ministerial appointment.

Name of appointee	Date appointment	Date appointment
	made	expires
Professor Margaret Seares AO	27 October 2009	26October 2012
Emeritus Professor	27 October 2009	26October 2012
Denise Bradley AC		
Mr Philip Bullock	27 October 2009	26October 2012
Mr John Ryan PSM	27 October 2009	26October 2012

All appointmentshave been made in accordance with Ch.3, Part 3.4, Division 2, subsection 170 (2) of the *Nation-building Funds Act 2008*.

^{*}Following Professor Sackett's resignation from the Board, the Board's Terms of Reference were amended to refer to only two ex-officio members, the Secretary of DEEWR and the Secretary of DIISR.