Senate Standing Committee on Education Employment and Workplace Relations

QUESTIONS ON NOTICE Budget Estimates 2012–2013

Outcome 3 – Employment

DEEWR Question No. EW0252_13

Senator Cash asked on 29 May 2012, Hansard page 48

Question

Seasonal Worker Program - Stakeholder Consultation

Ms Paul: Senator, you were asking earlier about consultation. We were up in Queensland and northern New South Wales recently. You might want to know who was also up there. We could provide that on notice. Senator CASH: That would help. Thank you. A complete list of stakeholders that you consulted with. Mr Roddam: We worked with cane growers, the peak industry body, in those consultations as well. But I can provide a complete list on notice.

Answer

The Department of Education, Employment and Workplace Relations (DEEWR) consulted directly with sugarcane growers in the following sugarcane growing regions regarding the proposed arrangements of the Seasonal Worker Program trial in the cane sector:

- Rocky Point, Qld
- Maryborough, Qld
- Isis, Qld
- Bundaberg, Qld
- Mossman, Qld
- Tableland, Qld
- Mulgrave, Qld
- Babinda, Qld
- Innisfail, Qld
- Tully, Qld
- Plane Creek, Qld
- Herbert River, Qld
- Burdekin, Qld
- Proserpine, Qld
- Mackay, Qld
- Murwillumbah, NSW
- Wardell, NSW
- Maclean, NSW.

The Department also consulted with the National Stakeholder Consultative Panel for the Seasonal Worker Program. Members of the Panel are:

• Australian Hotels Association

- Australian Workers' Union
- Canegrowers
- Catholic Church
- Cotton Australia
- National Aquaculture Council
- National Farmers' Federation
- United Voice
- Uniting World.

Given the relevant industry body is Canegrowers and the relevant union is the Australian Workers' Union, DEEWR particularly consulted with these stakeholders.

DEEWR also consulted with the Pacific Seasonal Worker Pilot Scheme Inter-Departmental Committee. Members of this Committee are:

- Australian Agency for International Development
- Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
- Department of Finance and Deregulation
- Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
- Department of Immigration and Citizenship
- Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet
- Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism
- Fair Work Ombudsman
- The Treasury.