EDUCATION, EMPLOYMENT AND WORKPLACE RELATIONS

SENATE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE - QUESTIONS ON NOTICE 2008-09 BUDGET ESTIMATES HEARING

Outcome 9

DEEWR Question No. EW568_09

Senator Fisher asked on 2 June 2008, EEWR Hansard page 49

Question

Provide a list to the committee of who is on the Workers' Advisory Group, and also the membership of the Union Working Group.

Answer

The Workers' Advisory Group is chaired by the Deputy Prime Minister. Membership of the Workers' Advisory Group is coordinated by the Australian Council of Trade Unions. Attendees have included:

Mr Jeff Lawrence, Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions

Ms Sharan Burrow, President, Australian Council of Trade Unions

Ms Cath Bowtell, Industrial Officer, Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Stephen Jones, National Secretary, Community and Public Sector Union

Mr Paul Howes, National Secretary, Australian Workers' Union

Mr Charlie Donnelly, General Secretary, National Union of Workers

Mr Julius Roe, National President, Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

Mr Tim Ayres, Assistant Secretary, Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union

Mr John Robertson, Secretary, Unions NSW

Mr John Sutton, National Secretary, Construction Forestry Mining and Energy Union

Ms Linda White, Assistant National Secretary, Australian Services Union

Ms Louise Tarrant, National Secretary, Liquor, Hospitality and Miscellaneous Union

Mr Tim Ferrari, Assistant National Secretary, Liquor, Hospitality and Miscellaneous Union

Ms Susan Hopgood, Federal Secretary, Australian Education Union

Mr Peter Tighe, National Secretary, Electrical Trades Union

Ms Ged Kearney, Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing Federation

Mr Tony Sheldon, Federal Secretary, Transport Workers Union

Mr David Carey, Federal Secretary, Community and Public Sector Union – State Public Services Federation

The Union Working Group on unfair dismissal is chaired by the Hon Dr Craig Emerson, Minister for Small Business, Independent Contractors and the Service Economy. Membership of the group is also coordinated through the Australian Council of Trade Unions. Attendees have included:

Mr Jeff Lawrence, Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Richard Watts, Industrial Officer, Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mr Barry Terzic, Industrial Officer, Australian Manufacturing Workers Union

Mr John Nucifora, National Industrial Officer, Australian Services Union

Mr Neal Swancott, National Industrial Officer, Liquor, Hospitality and Miscellaneous Union

Ms Deborah Ralston, Industrial Officer, Queensland Council of Unions

Ms Sue-Anne Burnley, National Industrial Officer, Shop, Distributive and Allied Employees' Association

Ms Bev Myers, National Industrial Officer, Textile, Clothing and Footwear Union of Australia

Mr Angus Storey, South Australia Unions