Senate Standing Committee on Economics ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS ON NOTICE

Treasury Portfolio
Supplementary Budget Estimates
19 – 20 October 2011

Question No: SBT 622

Topic: Business Tax Reform Working Group

Hansard Page: Written

Senator Bob Brown asked:

When will the remaining members of the Business Tax Reform Working Group announced at the Tax Forum be appointed?

a) How is the Government ensuring that the membership includes a variety of perspectives such as small business and the broader public interest?

Answer:

The Treasurer announced the membership and terms of reference of the Business Tax Working Group (Working Group) on 12 October 2011. All members of the Working Group were appointed with effect from that date.

The members of the Working Group are:

- Chris Jordan (Chair)(Board of Taxation)
- Peter Burn (Australian Industry Group)
- Frank Drenth (Corporate Tax Association of Australia)
- Teresa Dyson (Law Council of Australia)
- John Freebairn (University of Melbourne)
- Rob Heferen (The Treasury)
- Jeff Lawrence (Australian Council of Trade Unions)
- Rob Mcleod (Ernst & Young)
- Jennifer Westacott (Business Council of Australia)

a)	The members of the Working Group bring a variety of perspectives and expertise to the task
	and represent industry and the community.

The Terms of Reference also require the Working Group to consult widely with industry and the broader community.